Home Formula 3GB3 Di Mauro claims pole for BRDC F4 Winter opener

Di Mauro claims pole for BRDC F4 Winter opener

by Peter Allen
Gaetano di Mauro

Photo: BRDC F4

Gaetano di Mauro has claimed pole position for the opening race of the BRDC F4 Winter Championship at Snetterton.

The Brazilian forced his fellow main series race winner Will Palmer to settle for second, outpacing the Briton by 0.425 seconds at the end of the session as track conditions improved.

Connor Jupp claimed third for the Mectech team for their single-seater debut, with Jordan Albert and Rodrigo Fonseca completing the competition’s five series regulars.

Of the four category debutants completing the nine-car field, Harrison Newey was the quickest and will start sixth ahead of di Mauro’s PetroBall team-mate Enzo Bortoleto, Fernando Urrutia and Zubair Hoque.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gaetano di Mauro PetroBall Racing 1:56.030 10
2 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport 1:56.455 0.425 9
3 Connor Jupp Mectech Motorsport 1:57.813 1.783 9
4 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing 1:57.985 1.955 9
5 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport 1:59.075 3.045 8
6 Harrison Newey HHC Motorsport 1:59.479 3.449 7
7 Enzo Bortoleto PetroBall Racing 2:00.593 4.563 9
8 Fernando Urrutia Sean Walkinshaw Racing 2:02.000 5.970 8
9 Zubair Hoque HHC Motorsport 2:02.284 6.254 9