Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Deletraz controls second Hungaroring race

Deletraz controls second Hungaroring race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI

Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship leader Louis Deletraz has further increased his points lead with a dominant win in the Sunday race at the Hungaroring.

Deletraz ended up leading every lap of this weekend, but had previously lost the race one win due to a penalty for jumping the start.

There was no such issue today and the Swiss driver returned to the top spot, with his compatriot Kevin Jorg propping up a Josef Kaufmann Racing 1-2.

A fantastic start by Deletraz allowed him to take an early lead, which was soon up to two seconds over Jorg.

The JKR duo then ran in formation, maintaining the gap and building up a huge lead over Koiranen’s Jake Hughes.

Hughes, who claimed third, took the chequered flag nine seconds behind Jorg as he held off teammate and Saturday winner Jack Aitken.

A sublime weekend for AVF’s top man Harrison Scott continued as the FR2.0 rookie kept Anthoine Hubert at bay to claim a personal best finish of fifth.

Thiago Vivacqua, Ben Barnicoat, Darius Oskoui and Matevos Isaakyan completed the points.

The race saw several drivers retire from the running, including Fortec’s Callan O’Keeffe, who had to pit after being sideswiped in T1 by Hugo de Sadeleer.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 16 laps in 27:48.197
2 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +1.870
3 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP +10.868
4 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP +11.454
5 Harrison Scott AVF +12.307
6 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +12.594
7 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +13.618
8 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +13.877
9 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team +14.381
10 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +15.286
11 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +15.914
12 Ukyo Sasahara ART Junior Team +16.185
13 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport +17.489
14 Nikita Mazepin Josef Kaufmann Racing +27.185
15 Charlie Eastwood AVF +27.708
16 Amaury Bonduel JD Motorsport +32.647
17 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering +33.746
18 James Allen ARTA Engineering +34.565
19 Ignazio D’Agosto Manor MP Motorsport +46.994
20 Valentin Hasse-Clot Manor MP Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +3 laps
Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing +10 laps
Anton De Pasquale Koiranen GP +11 laps
Lasse Sorensen Manor MP Motorsport +12 laps
Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport +13 laps
Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports +15 laps