Home Formula 4French F4 Ugo de Wilde wins final French F4 race of 2018

Ugo de Wilde wins final French F4 race of 2018

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FFSA Academy

Ugo de Wilde took a lights-to-flag victory in the final race of the 2018 French Formula 4 season at Paul Ricard.

The Belgian made a strong start from pole to pull away from the rest of the field and was unchallenged throughout the race, finishing 3.2 seconds ahead of Adam Eteki.

Behind him, Theor Pourchaire and Eteki battled for the runner-up spot. Eteki took the position early in the race when Pourchaire ran wide. Pourchaire fought back and managed to reclaim second after running side by side with Eteki.

The pair swapped positions once more, with Eteki flying past on the pit straight.

Ulysse de Pauw and Caio Collet had been closing in on the battle ahead when they both ran wide, allowing Theo Nouet to come through to take fourth. De Pauw and Collet finished fifth and sixth, ahead of Reshad de Gerus and Pierre-Louis Chovet.

Gillian Henrion and Esteban Muth completed the top 10.


Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Ugo de Wilde 22m47.964s
2 Adam Eteki +3.201s
3 Theo Pourchaire +3.315s
4 Theo Nouet +4.880s
5 Ulysse de Pauw +5.605s
6 Caio Collet +5.911s
7 Reshad De Gerus +6.723s
8 Pierre-Louis Chovet +10.029s
9 Gillian Henrion +10.816s
10 Esteban Muth +13.251s
11 Romain Boeckler +17.507s
12 Arthur Leclerc +17.988s
13 Baptiste Moulin +18.114s
14 Shahib Al Habsi +19.841s
15 Evan Spenle +22.517s
16 Alessandro Ghiretti +30.037s
17 Baptiste Berthelot +31.181s
18 Sacha Lehmann +31.971s
DNS Mario Herrero
Pole: de Wilde, 2m15.177s? ? ? Fastest lap: Chovet, 2m15.637s

Championship Standings
1?Collet 303.5? ?2 de Wilde 237? ?3 de?Pauw 222? ?4?Eteki 213? ?5?Leclerc 195? ?6 Chovet 160? ?7 Muth 141.5? ?8?Nouet 97? ?9?Stuwie White 80? ?10 Herrero 49

Junior Standings
1 Pourchaire 408.5? ?2 De Gerus 299? ?3?Al Habsi 245.5? ?4?O’Neill Muth 243