Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps De Vries takes double Pau pole in Formula Renault Alps

De Vries takes double Pau pole in Formula Renault Alps

by Gruz David
Nyck de Vries

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

McLaren junior Nyck De Vries recovered well from his practice crash on Friday by going fastest in Formula Renault Alps qualifying inPau.

The field was split into two groups for the qualifying. In the first session, Matevos Isaakyan and Simon Gachet were in a different league and fought their own battle for first place. Eventually, it was Formula Renault 2.0 rookie Isaakyan who went fastest.

In the second group, three drivers, De Vries, George Russell and Alessio Rovera dominated with De Vries taking the pole as he went 0.06s and 0.01s faster than Isaakyan and Rovera respectively.

As a result, the front row of De Vries and Isaakyan will be followed by Rovera and Gachet. Russell, Charles Leclerc and Ben Barnicoat will start from fifth, sixth and seventh to be the best karting graduates.

The top ten is rounded out by Canadian Luke Chudleigh, Pole Alex Bosak and Indonesian?Philo Armand.

The top six positions on the grid for race two are set to be the same based on second-best times, with De Vries’ second best lap only 0.002s slower than his quickest.

Provisional race one grid
Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 1:13.913
2 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:13.977
3 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport 1:13.923
4 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:14.096
5 George Russell Koiranen GP 1:14.092
6 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 1:14.644
7 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 1:14.139
8 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:14.855
9 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam 1:14.549
10 Philo Armand Tech 1 Racing 1:14.969
11 Hugo De Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 1:14.549
12 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing 1:14.986
13 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 1:15.142
14 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:15.138
15 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:15.166
16 Kang Ling Koiranen GP 1:15.478
17 Dennis Anoschin Jenzer Motorsport 1:15.363
18 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 1:15.579
19 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports 1:15.492
20 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 1:15.588
21 Danylo Pronenko AS Motorsport by GSK 1:15.737
22 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing 1:15.653
23 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 1:17.139
24 Matteo Gonfiantini TS Corse 1:15.720