Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps De Vries takes comfortable sixth win at damp Spa

De Vries takes comfortable sixth win at damp Spa

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Dutchman Nyck de Vries continued to build up his lead in the championship standings with yet another victory from pole position at Spa-Francorchamps.

De Vries managed a great start off the line and was more than two seconds clear of his nearest rival after the opening lap. The Koiranen racer then continued to methodically build up his advantage on the damp track and crossed the line a whopping 12 seconds ahead of the opposition.

Fellow front row starter Matevos Isaakyan bogged down at the start and, as a result, got passed by Ben Barnicoat over the first lap, only to get back past the NEC regular the next time around. The Russian then immediately pulled clear of Barnicoat and cruised to another second-place finish, picking up his fourth consecutive podium in the series.

Barnicoat himself came under pressure from teammate Seb Morris, but the Welshman would drop out of the race in the final minutes.

It was then Charles Leclerc‘s turn to challenge Barnicoat but, despite a close last lap battle, the Racing Steps Foundation driver prevailed, securing his first podium in the series, while the Monegasque driver secured solid points in fourth.

Raoul Owens drove a solid, cautious race to take fifth, while Dario Capitanio fought his way up to sixth, helped out by a mid-race collision between Simon Gachet and Luke Chudleigh.

The Italian was just barely ahead of George Russell, Alessio Rovera and Alex Bosak, while Tech 1’s Akash Nandy narrowly beat teammate Patric Armand to round out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 12 laps in 28:06.739
2 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +12.450
3 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +19.438
4 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +19.891
5 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +22.353
6 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +27.585
7 George Russell Koiranen GP +28.440
8 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport +28.940
9 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +29.440
10 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +31.667
11 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +32.214
12 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +35.959
13 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +37.012
14 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +43.744
15 Matteo Gonfiantini TS Corse +45.954
16 Hong Li Ye Koiranen Motorsport +47.060
17 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +49.178
18 Kang Ling Koiranen GP +56.007
19 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsports +56.956
20 Sun Zheng China BRT by JCS +1:05.903
21 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +1:06.050
22 James Allen ARTA Engineering +1:07.857
23 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +1:11.151
24 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +1:18.131
25 Yuan Bo Koiranen GP +1:18.633
26 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +1 lap
27 Danyil Pronenko AS Motorsport by GSK +1 lap
Not classifed
Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +3 laps
Stefan Riener Cram Motorsport +4 laps
Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +8 laps
Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +8 laps
DNS* Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing

* – retired on the formation lap