Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup De Vries strolls to victory in first Paul Ricard race

De Vries strolls to victory in first Paul Ricard race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Eurocup Formula Renault points leader Nyck de Vries has edged closer towards the series title with a victory in race one of the penultimate round at Paul Ricard.

The Dutchman got a good start from pole position and proceeded to pull away from the field, increasing his advantage over the rest with each lap.

Alex Albon, who started the race in second, also managed to edge away from the opposition over the opening laps, but soon slowed down his pace.

This allowed Tech 1’s Egor Orudzhev to close in on him. The Russian, who had fallen behind Aurelien Panis earlier in the race but then retook third place, slowly but surely caught up with Albon and overtook him for second with mere seconds remaining on the clock.

The Thai racer had to settle for third, with Panis closing out the top four.

Andrea Pizzitola held off fellow title contender Dennis Olsen for fifth, while Kevin Jorg kept Bruno Bonifacio at bay in seventh. Gustav Malja and Hans Villemi rounded out the points.

With de Vries winning and closest rival Olsen only sixth, the Dutchman will need to finish in the top three in race two tomorrow to guarantee the title.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 13 laps in 27:27.090
2 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +11.050
3 Alexander Albon KTR +12.232
4 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +13.218
5 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +16.426
6 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +16.643
7 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.418
8 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +20.782
9 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +27.015
10 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +27.365
11 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +28.361
12 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +28.877
13 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +29.356
14 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP +34.430
15 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +34.926
16 Louis Del?traz AVF +35.728
17 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +38.369
18 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +39.478
19 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +42.101
20 James Allen KTR +43.535
21 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +45.234
22 Callan O’Keeffe KTR +48.667
23 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team +1:23.897
24 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +1 lap
Not classified
Jules Gounon AVF +7 laps
Gregor Ramsay KTR +13 laps
Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +13 laps