Home Formula 3Euroformula Stuvik continues to dominate EF Open with fifth consecutive win

Stuvik continues to dominate EF Open with fifth consecutive win

by Gruz David


Sandy Stuvik continues to be unbeatable in the second half of the 2014 Euroformula Open season, having dominated the first race of the penultimate round at Monza.

Although Stuvik lost the lead to his teammate Andres Saravia at the start, he reclaimed first in the second lap and then calmly drove off into the distance, not to be troubled again.

On the other end of the spectrum for title contenders, Alex Palou‘s championship chances saw a significant drop when he was ruled out of the race in the first corner, his car flipping in the air after contact.

A huge battle for the remaining podium spots emerged later on in the race among four different drivers, who traded positions almost every lap. Eventually, it was Artur Janosz and Yu Kanamaru who made it to the top three, while returnee Kevin Giovesi had to settle with fourth.

Saravia was also present in the battle yet a last lap spin from the Guatemalan saw him relegated to fifteenth.

Campos duo Konstantin Tereshchenko and Sean Walkinshaw finished fifth and sixth respectively, followed by two West-Tec entrants Yarin Stern and Nicolas Pohler.

Series returnee Damiano Fioravanti and Thai racer Tanart Sathienthirakul completed the top ten.

With three more races to go from the season, Stuvik’s lead is 69 points over Janosz, who took second in the standings after Palou’s retirement. Tomorrow, a top-five finish from Stuvik will allow him to take the title.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport 16 laps in 28:53.969
2 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport +12.142
3 Yu Kanamaru EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +13.401
4 Kevin Giovesi DAV Racing +14.056
5 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing +21.382
6 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing +21.759
7 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec +23.431
8 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec +26.691
9 Damiano Fioravanti BVM Racing +30.707
10 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec +39.746
11 Henrique Baptista DAV Racing +40.683
12 Costantino Peroni DAV Racing +41.005
13 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +1:10.195
14 Christopher Hoher BVM Racing +1:19.864
15 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +1 lap
16 William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni +1 lap
17 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec +4 laps
Not classified
Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +4 laps
Che One Lim EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +16 laps
Alex Palou Campos Racing +16 laps