Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Collet beats Martins to Eurocup pole in wet Zandvoort qualifying

Collet beats Martins to Eurocup pole in wet Zandvoort qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Caio Collet got the better of Formula Renault Eurocup title rival Victor Martins in qualifying for the second race at Zandvoort.

ART Grand Prix driver Martins took pole for race one, but Renault junior Collet struck back in Q2 by going almost a third of a second faster than the Frenchman in the wet.

Lorenzo Colombo set the early pace for Bhaitech, and his team-mate Nicola Marinangeli brought the session to a stop when he crashed.

Martins was the driver to beat once qualifying restarted, with Collet in second place. Both drivers quickly began to improve, and although Collet had to give up one of his efforts he was still able to build up his pace to be faster than Martins.

ART GP seemed to have the best set-up for the damp track, with Martins’ team-mates Paul Aron and Gregoire Saucy filling the second row of the grid behind him.

FA Racing by Manor’s Amaury Cordeel made a late improvement to qualify fifth, which demoted MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto to sixth place. JD Motorsport driver David Vidales has also been in the top five, but he got shuffled down to eighth behind Colombo.

Czech drivers Petr Ptacek (R-ace GP) and Roman Stanek (MP) completed the top 10.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m33.120s 12
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m33.446s +0.326s 12
3 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m33.909s +0.789s 12
4 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m34.027s +0.907s 11
5 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m34.043s +0.923s 10
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m34.413s +1.293s 12
7 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m34.642s +1.522s 11
8 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m34.834s +1.714s 11
9 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m34.839s +1.719s 12
10 Roman Stanek MP Motorsport 1m34.960s +1.840s 12
11 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m35.098s +1.978s 11
12 Alex Quinn Arden 1m35.310s +2.190s 10
13 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m35.356s +2.236s 11
14 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m35.853s +2.733s 10
15 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m36.096s 2.976s 12
16 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m36.800s +3.680s 9
17 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m37.015s +3.895s 10
18 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech no time 3