Home News Haverkort heads another MP lock-out in Spanish F4 Valencia race two

Haverkort heads another MP lock-out in Spanish F4 Valencia race two

by Peter Allen

Kas Haverkort led another MP Motorsport lock-out of the top four positions in the second Spanish Formula 4 race at Valencia.

Just as in race one, Haverkort led Joshua Dufek, Thomas ten Brinke and Mari Boya – who slipped back from second on the grid this time having leapt forward from seventh in the opener.

The battle between the MP drivers was neutralised after a few laps when another of their team-mates Enzo Joullie landed in the gravel trap from further back in the pack, necessitating a safety car.

The race restarted with six minutes left on the clock and Haverkort did enough to see off Dufek, taking his sixth win of the season by 0.886 seconds to further increase his championship lead.

Ten Brinke achieved his fourth podium in five starts, with Boya finishing fourth after ultimately losing that result to a track-limits penalty after race one.

Suleiman Zanfari, who was also penalised after race one, was again the first finisher outside of MP Motorsport in fifth, with GRS team-mate Lorenzo Fluxa taking sixth away from Drivex’s Paul-Adrien Pallot at the restart.

Oliver Goethe took seventh from 12th on the grid while SMP Racing protege Ivan Nosov charged from 20th to finish eighth in front of Pallot and Carles Martinez.

Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 19m49.647s
2 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport +0.886s
3 Thomas ten Brinke MP Motorsport +1.671s
4 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +2.750s
5 Suleiman Zanfari Global Racing Service +4.251s
6 Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service +5.620s
7 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +7.226s
8 Ivan Nosov Drivex School +9.462s
9 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex School +10.231s
10 Carles Martinez Praga F4 +11.015s
11 Javier Sagrera MOL Racing +11.138s
12 Alex Garcia Global Racing Service +11.603s
13 Eloy Sebastian Lopez Global Racing Service +12.564s
14 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +12.625s
15 Lena Buhler Drivex School +12.990s
16 Valdemar Eriksen Drivex School +13.343s
17 Augustin Collinot Drivex School +13.696s
19 Ignacio Montenegro MP Motorsport +14.296s
14 Manuel Silva Drivex School +14.366s
Ret Mehrbod Shameli Xcel Motorsport DNF
Ret Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport DNF
Fastest lap: Dufek, 1m33.824s

Championship standings
1 Haverkort 166   2 Boya 127   3 Goethe 100   4 Dufek 98   5 Fluxa 66   6 ten Brinke 64   7 Filip Ugran 55   8 Eriksen 48   9 Nosov 34   10 Francesco Simonazzi 23