Home Formula 4Italian F4 Camara fastest at Monza in Italian F4 practice

Camara fastest at Monza in Italian F4 practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Rafael Camara was fastest by just 0.034 seconds in Italian Formula 4 free practice at Monza.

The Ferrari junior topped the first session on Friday, moving to the top of the times late on with a 1m53.007s lap.

It had been his Prema team-mates who were the drivers to beat prior to that point, with points leader Andrea Kimi Antonelli starting FP1 on top.

US Racing duo Marcus Amand and Alex Dunne spent half a minute each in first place before Antonelli returned to the position. James Wharton and Charlie Wurz then went fastest for Prema, and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Martinius Stenshorne spent three minutes ahead prior to Wurz then lowering the pace again.

Antonelli was back in first place for 0.627s while Wharton was in his tow, as the latter then set a new fastest lap as he crossed the line behind. That put him on top for almost two minutes before Camara finally rose to the head of the timesheet.

US’s Kacper Sztuka snuck into second place between the Prema drivers, as Antonelli was shuffled down to seventh.

Only six drivers improved in FP2, one of whom was Wurz. He set the pace with a 1m53.041s lap, putting him into second overall across the two sessions by one thousandth of a second.

Antonelli was second in FP2, 0.356s back, with Sztuka, Stenshorne, Dunne and Wharton all within half a second of Wurz.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Valentin Kluss jumped up to 15th and 18th overall by going seventh and eighth fastest in FP2, and the other improvers were Arvid Lindblad, William Karlsson and Ismail Akhmed.

Camara was 27th fastest and 1.730s off the pace in the session.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m53.007s 21
2 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m53.041s +0.034s 26
3 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m53.042s +0.035s 25
4 James Wharton Prema 1m53.115s +0.108s 26
5 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.255s +0.248s 27
6 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m53.265s +0.258s 25
7 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m53.266s +0.259s 26
8 Zachary David US Racing 1m53.273s +0.266s 25
9 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m53.372s +0.365s 24
10 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m53.401s +0.394s 25
11 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.432s +0.425s 26
12 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m53.446s +0.439s 24
13 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m53.523s +0.516s 27
14 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m53.548s +0.541s 24
15 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.587s +0.580s 22
16 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m53.599s +0.592s 25
17 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m53.689s +0.682s 23
18 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m53.829s +0.822s 24
19 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport 1m53.892s +0.885s 28
20 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx 1m53.975s +0.968s 26
21 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.018s +1.011s 27
22 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m54.067s +1.060s 27
23 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.068s +1.061s 26
24 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.103s +1.096s 26
25 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m54.143s +1.136s 25
26 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m54.179s +1.172s 26
27 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m54.187s +1.180s 18
28 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m54.238s +1.231s 26
29 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.263s +1.256s 25
30 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m54.291s +1.284s 28
31 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m54.497s +1.490s 24
32 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.512s +1.505s 27
33 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m54.535s +1.528s 29
34 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m54.558s +1.551s 28
35 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m54.577s +1.570s 29
36 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m54.695s +1.688s 24
37 Ruiqi Liu AKM Motorsport 1m54.718s +1.711s 27
38 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport 1m55.018s +2.011s 25
39 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m55.157s +2.150s 23
40 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m55.374s +2.367s 23
41 Niels Koolen Monlau Motorsport 1m55.393s +2.386s 26
42 Francisco Soldavini Maffi Racing 1m56.001s +2.994s 25
43 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m56.038s +3.031s 19
44 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m56.474s +3.467s 16