Home Formula 4British F4 Neate sets pace again as British F4 switches to Brands Hatch GP layout

Neate sets pace again as British F4 switches to Brands Hatch GP layout

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Argenti Motorsport’s Aiden Neate was fastest in free practice for the British Formula 4 finale at Brands Hatch, as the series switched to the circuit’s Grand Prix layout.

Pre-event testing took place earlier in the week but used the shorter Indy layout, and Neate was fastest then.

He started Friday on the longer layout by going second fastest in FP1, as Virtuosi Racing’s Edward Pearson set the pace.

Aside from two brief periods where Argenti drivers Daniel Guinchard and Neate were on top, Pearson spent almost the entirety of FP1 in first place as he made improvement after improvement to his best laptime.

In the middle of the session there was a red flag stoppage as Argenti’s Isaac Barashi hit trouble.

The fight to be fastest in FP2 was between Neate, Carlin’s Ollie Gray and JHR Developments’ Joseph Loake, although Carlin’s Louis Sharp and Pearson also spent time at the top. Pearson was however the only driver not to improve on their FP1 time, and he finished the session seventh while Neate and Guinchard set the pace.

Once again there was a red flag stoppage, this time caused by Chris Dittmann Racing’s Jaden Pariat.

The 19 drivers who contested practice will be the 19 who will race this weekend, meaning a maximum score of 86 points is possible from the weekend.

The absent Alex Dunne leads by 102 points over Gray, who could gain 13 points and have three penalty points removed post-season if he wins an appeal against a penalty from the previous round.

An overturning of that penalty would also cost Dunne three points, and with a potential 19-point swing from that decision, it means Gray could become champion should he qualify no higher than 17th and win all three races this weekend from the back of the grid.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 1m24.428s 36
2 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport 1m24.527s +0.099s 34
3 Louis Sharp Carlin 1m24.679s +0.251s 33
4 Edward Pearson Virtuosi 1m24.819s +0.391s 39
5 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 1m24.867s +0.439s 33
6 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m24.880s +0.452s 36
7 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m25.051s +0.623s 30
8 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments 1m25.160s +0.732s 36
9 Michael Shin Virtuosi 1m25.234s +0.806s 36
10 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 1m25.258s +0.830s 35
11 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP 1m25.535s +1.107s 35
12 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports 1m25.548s +1.120s 35
13 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport 1m25.659s +1.231s 35
14 Marcos Flack Fortec Motorsports 1m25.717s +1.289s 35
15 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP 1m25.976s +1.548s 37
16 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.171s +1.743s 33
17 Jaden Pariat Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.405s +1.977s 34
18 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport 1m26.989s +2.561s 32
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP 1m27.951s +3.523s 37