Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Bonifacio converts pole into victory in race one at Jerez

Bonifacio converts pole into victory in race one at Jerez

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Roberto Piccinini / Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Roberto Piccinini / Fast Lane Promotion

Bruno Bonifacio delivered Prema Powerteam’s first victory of the 2014 Formula Renault Alps season in the first race of the final round at Jerez.

The Brazilian racer controlled the race from pole position, taking his fourth win in the series.

Alps champion Nyck de Vries kept up with the Prema driver over the duration of the race, closing in when the Brazilian dropped some time on lap 13, but the Dutchman would eventually have to settle for second.

Egor Orudzhev went from fifth on the grid to third during the opening lap and drove a consistent race to pick up his third podium in the series.

Fellow guest entrants Matt Parry and Dennis Olsen took fourth and fifth respectively, with second-best Alps regular Charles Leclerc in sixth, narrowly ahead of Fortec teammate Jack Aitken.

Matevos Isaakyan was eighth, whilst Strakka’s Jake Hughes finished ninth. A ten-second penalty for George Russell for jumping the start meant that it was Cram’s Vasily Romanov?who rounded out the top ten in the classification.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 16 laps in 27:26.899
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +0.534
3 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +2.524
4 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +6.380
5 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +6.521
6 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +10.383
7 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +10.620
8 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +14.174
9 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing +14.461
10 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport +20.220
11 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +20.875
12 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport +25.515
13 George Russell Koiranen GP +26.073*
14 Stefan Riener Cram Motorsport +33.140
15 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +36.009
16 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +38.725
17 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +39.241
18 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +39.987
19 Pietro Fittipaldi Koiranen GP +40.310
20 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +40.749
21 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +41.678
22 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +42.342
23 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +44.523
24 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +46.318
25 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +48.034
26 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +49.859
27 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +56.390
28 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +57.024
29 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +1:06.852
30 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +3 laps
Not classifed
James Allen ARTA Engineering +12 laps
Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +15 laps

* – 10-second penalty