Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Marschall fights through the field to win final ADAC Formel Masters race

Marschall fights through the field to win final ADAC Formel Masters race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Team Lotus driver Dennis Marschall won the 24th and final race of the 2014 ADAC Formel Masters season.

The young ADAC Stiftung Sport protege put on a spectacular race from seventh on the grid to claim his second Hockenheim victory.

Mucke’s Kim-Luis Schramm was on reverse-grid pole for the race and duly kept his lead into turn one, while front row starter Nico Menzel narrowly held second.

Menzel would soon be overtaken by Tim Zimmermann, who picked up second into the hairpin during the opening lap and then slipstreamed his way past Schramm and into the lead lap two.

The poleman kept up with Zimmermann at first, as the duo established themselves as the race leaders, with Menzel bunching up the rest of the pack in third.

However, the leaders didn’t get to break away as Marschall found a way past Menzel on lap four and immediately set out in pursuit of victory.

He slowly but surely reeled in Schramm, overtaking him into the hairpin on lap seven, before pulling off the same trick on Zimmermann on lap nine.

The race for victory was done at that point as Marschall pulled away from Zimmermann, eventually finishing three seconds in the clear.

Behind them, there was a thrilling fight for the final podium spot, as Joel Eriksson and a charging Mikkel Jensen, who had previously overtaken two cars into one corner for fifth place, caught up to Schramm.

Drivers’ champion Jensen finally prevailed, completing the podium, while Schramm settled for fourth. Eriksson took fifth, nearly losing the spot to JBR’s Igor Walilko.

Marvin Dienst took seventh as Menzel finished eighth ahead of Mucke’s Maximilian Gunther and Lotus driver Luis-Enrique Breuer.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Dennis Marschall Lotus 14 laps in 25:08.570
2 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +3.142
3 Mikkel Jensen Neuhauser Racing +5.864
4 Kim-Luis Schramm Mucke Motorsport +6.489
5 Joel Eriksson Lotus +7.061
6 Igor Walilko JBR Motorsport & Engineering +7.095
7 Marvin Dienst Mucke Motorsport 12.777
8 Nico Menzel Schiller Motorsport +14.013
9 Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport +16.711
10 Luis-Enrique Breuer Lotus +17.459
11 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +18.943
12 David Kolkmann JBR Motorsport & Engineering +21.082
13 Giorgio Maggi Mucke Motorsport +35.295
Not classified
Ralph Boschung Lotus +12 laps