Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Tan wins German F3 finale after Jeffri retires from the lead

Tan wins German F3 finale after Jeffri retires from the lead

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Alexander Trienitz / ATS Formel 3 Cup

Photo: Alexander Trienitz / ATS Formel 3 Cup

Malaysian racer Weiron Tan picked up his second victory in German F3 in the final race of the 2014 season at Hockenheim.

Starting in fifth, Tan managed an excellent getaway from the grid to put himself in prime position for victory when his compatriot Nabil Jeffri retired with mechanical issues.

Indeed, it looked like a straightforward race for the Motopark driver early on as Jeffri started well from pole and fended off Tan to establish a solid lead after lap one.

He would continue to comfortably maintain the gap to second over the opening stint, but, on lap six, a cloud of smoke erupted from Jeffri’s engine at Parabolica, forcing him to pull over and call it a day.

As such, Tan inherited the lead with a fair bit of the race to go, but, despite some pressure from Indy Dontje, it was a straightforward affair for the Malaysian until the checkered flag.

With Dontje settling for second, Tan’s Van Amersfoort Racing squadmate Sam MacLeod finished third. The Scotsman was under attack by Markus Pommer midway through the race but was left to comfortably cruise to third after mechanical issues forced the reigning champion into the pits.

JBR Motorsport & Engineering’s Nicolai Sylvest took fourth, while Andres Mendez repeated his best finish of the season in fifth. Nicolas Beer recovered from early issues to take sixth, ahead of ADM drivers?Konstantin Tereshchenko?and Nikita Zlobin.

Maximilian Hackl and Nikolaj Rogivue took ninth and tenth respectively as Luca Iannaccone completed the finishing order.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Weiron Tan Van Amersfoort Racing 19 laps in 30:25.063
2 Indy Dontje Lotus +0.943
3 Sam MacLeod Van Amersfoort Racing +4.513
4 Nicolai Sylvest JBR Motorsport & Engineering +6.296
5 Andres Mendez Lotus +19.571
6 Nicolas Beer EuroInternational +25.356
7 Konstantin Tereshchenko ADM Motorsport +32.646
8 Nikita Zlobin SMP Racing by ADM +34.987
9 Maximilian Hackl Amkon Motorsport +53.828
10 Nikolaj Rogivue Franz Woss Racing +1:02.236
11 Luca Iannaccone Franz Woss Racing +1 lap
12 Markus Pommer Lotus +5 laps
Not classified
Nabil Jeffri Motopark +14 laps