Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Bonifacio and de Vries take poles for Alps finale

Bonifacio and de Vries take poles for Alps finale

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Prema Powerteam’s Bruno Bonifacio and Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries will share poles for the two races of the final Formula Renault Alps round of 2014 at Jerez.

Bonifacio topped Group B to secure pole for the opening race, while de Vries emerged as the pacesetter for the two sessions on second-best laps and will lead the way in race two.

De Vries – who has recently become the reigning champion of both the Eurocup and the Alps series – came out on top in a close Group A qualifying, leading Fortec’s Matt Parry by 0.128s.

Parry himself was just 0.02s clear of Vasily Romanov, who is making his debut appearance with Italian team Cram Motorsport. Fourth-placed Dennis Olsen and fifth-placed Matevos Isaakyan were both within 0.015s of Romanov as the top five ended up separated by just 0.163s.

In Group B, which narrowly ended up being the overall quickest of the two, Bonifacio saw off Leclerc by 0.16s.

Egor Orudzhev took third, with Brits George Russell and Jack Aitken making up the rest of the top five.

On second-best times, de Vries wound up quickest, whilst Orudzhev was the pacesetter in Group B and will join the Dutchman on front row for race two.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:41.456
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:41.582
3 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 1:41.617
4 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:41.710
5 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:41.689
6 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 1:41.730
7 George Russell Koiranen GP 1:41.700
8 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 1:41.734
9 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:41.933
10 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 1:41.745
11 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:42.064
12 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 1:42.121
13 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam 1:42.334
14 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:42.396
15 Stefan Riener Cram Motorsport 1:42.388
16 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport 1:42.535
17 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 1:42.568
18 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports 1:42.614
19 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 1:42.678
20 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing 1:42.655
21 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 1:42.744
22 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:42.734
23 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport 1:42.748
24 Hong Li Ye Koiranen Motorsport 1:42.904
25 James Allen ARTA Engineering 1:42.860
26 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing 1:42.907
27 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing 1:42.865
28 Danyil Pronenko AS Motorsport by GSK 1:43.761
29 Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix 1:42.959
30 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 2:06.671
31 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 1:44.715
32 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports 2:13.947