Home Formula 3Euroformula Bolukbasi wins at Barcelona as Das seals Euroformula title

Bolukbasi wins at Barcelona as Das seals Euroformula title

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Fotospeedy

Cem Bolukbasi survived race-long pressure to win the first Euroformula race of the Barcelona weekend ahead of Cameron Das, who sealed the title with two races to spare.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Bolukbasi, Drivex’s Enzo Trulli and Motopark’s Das went three-wide at the start, with Bolukbasi emerging in front and with Das slotting in behind.

Das didn’t allow Bolukbasi to pull away as the pair left Trulli behind, and the gap was only once more than a second between the lead pair.

They had a wheel-to-wheel moment down the front straight on lap 10 of 18, but Das was not able to make a move work.

After that, Das wasn’t able to apply the same pressure as before to Bolukbasi out front, who took his second win of the season after sensationally winning on debut earlier in the year.

As CryptoTower Racing’s Louis Foster could only finish fifth, and Das took second, it meant the American had a gap of more than 56 points, clinching the title.

Trulli rounded out the podium with Foster’s CryptoTower team-mate Nazim Azman just behind.

Motopark’s Jak Crawford was sixth after battles with Double R Racing’s Josh Mason (who finished one place behind) and Foster.

Carlin’s Brad Benavides was eighth, gaining three places, ahead of VAR’s Casper Stevenson.

Motopark’s Christian Mansell took the final point after a race-long battle with debutant guest driver Sebastian Alvarez, where the drivers swapped places on two occasions.

CryptoTower’s Filip Kaminiarz was 12th, ahead of VAR’s Rafael Villagomez, debutant Dexter Patterson and Drivex’s Enzo Scionti.

While there were no retirements, BVM Racing’s Francesco Simonazzi did finish twice lapped having had a spin in the middle of the race and a brush with the barriers.

Race results (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Cem Bolukbasi Van Amersfoort Racing 29m27.493s
2 Cameron Das Motopark +0.946s
3 Enzo Trulli Carlin +5.713s
4 Nazim Azman CryptoTower +6.310s
5 Louis Foster CryptoTower +6.935s
6 Jak Crawford Motopark +8.261s
7 Josh Mason Double R Racing +12.010s
8 Brad Benavides Carlin +17.672s
9 Casper Stevenson Van Amersfoort Racing +18.432s
10 Christian Mansell Motopark +23.844s
11 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +26.846s
12 Filip Kaminiarz CryptoTower +30.149s
13 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +33.908s
14 Dexter Patterson Drivex School +36.551s
15 Enzo Scionti Drivex School +36.808s
16 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 2 Laps
Fastest lap: Das, 1:37.454

1 Das 354   2 Foster 282   3 Azman 260   4 Crawford 252   5 Stevenson 211   6 Bolukbasi 193   7 Villagomez 133   8 Trulli 121   9 Mason 83   10 Kaminiarz 78