Home Formula 4Danish F4 Benjamin Frislund wins Danish F4’s Padborg Park opener

Benjamin Frislund wins Danish F4’s Padborg Park opener

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Super GT Denmark

Benjamin Frislund won the opening Danish Formula 4 race at Padborg Park, as championship leader Conrad Laursen and Juju Noda got locked in a battle for second place.

Noda started from pole, alongside Formula 5 entry Mads Hoe. The Japanese racer made a good start, but made contact with Hoe as he tried to make a move around the outside of the first corner.

The incident allowed Team FSP duo Frislund and Laursen to sweep past them both into first and second, after Frislund had fainted a move down the inside, while Hoe dropped to the back of the order.

For most of the race, the top three were locked in a battle for position. A handful of lock-ups for both Laursen and Noda denied them the opportunity to make up position and, once they started to fight between themselves, Frislund was able to pull away in the closing stages of the race.

He finished 3.333 seconds ahead of Laursen, who held onto second despite Noda pulling alongside him multiple times.

After the turn one incident, Hoe was making good progress up the order. He had climbed up to sixth and joined Jacon Bjerring and William Wulf in the battle for fourth.

Fifth placed Bjerring put up a good fight, allowing Wulf to briefly break free, but Hoe quickly reeled him back in once passing Bjerring.

He pulled alongside Wulf and tried to make a move around the outside stick, only for them both to lose out to Bjerring.

On the final lap, Hoe made one last attempt to climb up to fourth, but made contact with Wulf and was sent spinning into the gravel – being pitched onto two wheels and almost rolling for the second time in the race.

Bjerring eventually finished fourth ahead of Lucas Daugaard and Wulf. Line Soenderskov was the final finisher on the lead lap in seventh, while Hoe was classified a lapped eighth ahead of Christoffer Christensen.

Millie Hoe ended her own race when she drove down an escape road when attempting to let the leaders by to lap her.


Race results (16 laps) [F5 entrants in italics]
Pos Name Team Time
1 Benjamin Frislund Team FSP 16m28.719s
2 Casper Laursen Team FSP +3.333s
3 Juju Noda Noda Racing +3.795s
4 Jacob Bjerring Mads Hoe Motorsport +14.340s
5 Lucas Daugaard Daugaard Racing +17.290s
6 William Wulf Team FSP +18.400s
7 Line Sonderskov Sonderskov Motorsport +52.086s
8 Mads Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport +1 lap
Christoffer Chistensen
Mads Hoe Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Mille Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport
Fastest lap: Frislund, 1m00.190s

Championship standings
1 Laursen 76   2 Frislund 57   3 Sebastian Ogaard 53   4 Noda 52   5 Hoe 46   6 Wulf 34   7 Daugaard 30   8 Bjerring 24   9 Christensen 12   10 Brian Steen 7