Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman and Duerksen share Italian F4 free practice spoils in Austria

Bearman and Duerksen share Italian F4 free practice spoils in Austria

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen set the pace in free practice for the latest Italian Formula 4 round at the Red Bull Ring.

The Paraguayan driver was second to US Racing rookie Ollie Bearman in FP1, then was on top for most of FP2.

Prema’s Gabriele Mini and Gabriel Bortoleto were the first on track to get a strong lap in without traffic, but once Duerksen had moved to the top on his fifth lap it was difficult for drivers to set personal bests when over 25 other cars were also setting a lap.

With eight minutes left of the 40-minute session, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jak Crawford managed to piece together three strong sectors to go top, but Duerksen got his tyres back in the operating window and reclaimed first place next time around.

Crawford remained in second, having been third best in FP1, while Mini pipped Crawford’s fellow Red Bull junior and VAR team-mate Jonny Edgar by 0.001 seconds to go third fastest.

Championship leader Francesco Pizzi made it three VAR cars in the top five, while Bearman failed to improve at the end of the session put his morning laptime was good enough to put him sixth overall in the combined classification.

Bortoleto was shuffled down to seventh, ahead of R-ace GP debutant Victor Bernier, Bearman’s team-mate Vlad Lomko, and Prema’s Sebastian Montoya – whose Formula 1 race-winning father Juan Pablo is supporting him pit-side this weekend.


Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m30.924s 37
2 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.071s +0.147s 44
3 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m31.103s +0.179s 39
4 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.104s +0.180s 43
5 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.220s +0.296s 41
6 Ollie Bearman US Racing 1m31.272s +0.348s 34
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m31.418s +0.494s 40
8 Victor Bernier R-ace GP 1m31.466s +0.542s 32
9 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m31.466s +0.542s 38
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m31.528s +0.604s 41
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.541s +0.617s 41
12 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m31.585s +0.661s 44
13 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m31.648s +0.724s 39
14 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.738s +0.814s 43
15 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m31.813s +0.889s 39
16 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.941s +1.017s 34
17 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m31.983s +1.059s 44
18 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport 1m31.996s +1.072s 36
19 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.066s +1.142s 42
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m32.081s +1.157s 43
21 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m32.131s +1.207s 39
22 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m32.153s +1.229s 30
23 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m32.180s +1.256s 41
24 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing 1m32.342s +1.418s 31
25 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m32.350s +1.426s 42
26 Kirill Smal R-ace GP 1m32.437s +1.513s 29
27 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.543s +1.619s 40
28 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m32.585s +1.661s 42
29 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.724s +1.800s 36
30 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m33.078s +2.154s 39