Home Featured Zendeli takes pole for Mugello F3 finale, Piastri to start 16th

Zendeli takes pole for Mugello F3 finale, Piastri to start 16th

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Lirim Zendeli has taken pole position for the final round of the FIA Formula 3 Championship at Mugello, while points leader Oscar Piastri will start down in 16th.

Trident driver Zendeli was quick throughout the session, and his penultimate quick lap was good enough to take pole position. His second lap on the final run was no quicker, as was the case for many of the runners.

Second fastest was Prema Racing’s championship contender Logan Sargeant, who complained of oversteer throughout the session. Sargeant takes a three-place grid drop from Monza and is set to start from fifth.

The situation is worse however for his rival Piastri. He qualified 11th, but his five-place grid drop from Monza means he is set to start Saturday’s race from 16th, with only an eight-point buffer over Sargeant.

Sargeant’s own penalty elevates HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes to second on the grid, ahead of championship outsider Frederik Vesti, who will be the highest-starting title contender.

HWA’s Enzo Fittipaldi took his best qualifying of the season with fifth and is to start from fourth ahead of Sargeant.

The other championship contenders Theo Pourchaire, David Beckmann and Liam Lawson are set to line up in seventh, eighth and 12th respectively.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m35.328s 12
2 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m35.362s +0.034s 12
3 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m35.453s +0.125s 12
4 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m35.548s +0.220s 12
5 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m35.561s +0.233s 12
6 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m35.594s +0.266s 14
7 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m35.631s +0.303s 14
8 David Beckmann Trident 1m35.646s +0.318s 12
9 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m35.682s +0.354s 12
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m35.693s +0.365s 14
11 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m35.699s +0.371s 12
12 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m35.941s +0.613s 12
13 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m35.999s +0.671s 12
14 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m36.043s +0.715s 14
15 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m36.094s +0.766s 12
16 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.135s +0.807s 12
17 David Schumacher Carlin 1m36.166s +0.848s 14
18 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m36.176s +0.858s 12
19 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m36.231s +0.903s 14
20 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m36.319s +0.991s 14
21 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.364s +1.036s 11
22 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m36.477s +1.149s 14
23 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m36.537s +1.209s 13
24 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m36.606s +1.278s 12
25 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.853s +1.525s 14
26 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System 1m36.879s +1.551s 12
27 Cameron Das Carlin 1m37.571s +2.243s 13
28 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m37.575s +2.247s 13