Home Formula 3GB3 Arjun Maini claims victory in final Brands Hatch race

Arjun Maini claims victory in final Brands Hatch race

by Peter Allen
Arjun Maini

Photo: BRDC F4

Indian BRDC F4 driver Arjun Maini made up for the disappointment of spinning out of the lead in race two at Brands Hatch by taking the spoils in the final race of the weekend, moving to just nine points off the top of the standings.

Lanan driver Maini started the race from pole thanks to setting the fastest lap of the earlier two races at the Kent venue, ahead of race one winner Gaetano di Mauro.

The top two remained in position off the start and although di Mauro stayed well within a second of the leader for the entire race, Maini held on up front and claimed his third win of the season by 0.7 seconds.

Struan Moore held third throughout, while Sennan Fielding took fourth away from George Russell at the start. Although the top five stayed in formation from the first lap, Russell finished within 2.5s of his team-mate Maini.

Nine seconds further back in sixth was Rodrigo Fonseca, holding off Jordan Albert – a triple points scorer in SWR’s first weekend as a Caterham F1-affiliated team.

Gustavo Lima and Will Palmer dropped out of the top ten in a last lap clash, promoting Charlie Eastwood, race two victor Chris Middlehurst and Tom Jackson.

Coming into the race just three points behind leader Russell, Raoul Hyman started 12th and lost two positions on the opening lap to finish 14th. He is now 13 points behind Russell, and has dropped to third place, four off Maini.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing 14 laps in 20:37.070
2 Gaetano di Mauro Petroball Racing +0.720
3 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +1.520
4 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +2.179
5 George Russell Lanan Racing +2.456
6 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +11.660
7 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +12.077
8 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +14.286
9 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +14.553
10 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +15.702
11 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +16.251
12 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +16.418
13 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +18.745
14 Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +19.435
15 Tom Bale Chris Dittmann Racing +19.627
16 Alfredo Zabalza Hillspeed +22.527
17 Connor Jupp Meridian Racing +22.658
18 Jai Nijjar Meridian Racing +30.691
19 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +1:23.029
Not classified
Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +1 lap
Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +1 lap