Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Albon celebrates maiden single-seater victory at Most

Albon celebrates maiden single-seater victory at Most

by Gruz David
Photo: Marko Unger / Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Marko Unger / Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

KTR’s Alex Albon was victorious in the rained out second Formula Renault 2.0 NEC race of the penultimate round of the season at Most.

Due to the difficult track conditions, the race started behind the safety car with poleman Raoul Owens leading the field.

However, once the race got green-flagged, Albon managed to steal the lead from the Mark Burdett Motorsport driver. The Thai racer held on to first until a spin from Stefan Riener brought out the safety car, which ended up staying out until the end of the race.

As such, Albon got to celebrate a long-overdue first win in single-seaters. Owens finished second to secure his first podium finish of the year while Seb Morris ended his weekend with another third place.

Steijn Schothorst‘s fourth place made up for some the damage caused to his title credentials by his retirement in race one.

ART Junior’s Callan O’Keeffe and Josef Kaufmann’s Gustav Malja took fifth and sixth respectively, followed by Ben Barnicoat, who leaves Most as the championship leader.

The rest of the top ten was completed by Manor’s Andrea Pizzitola, Euronova’s Ukyo Sasahara and JKR’s Louis Deletraz.

Before the final event at the Nurburgring, Barnicoat is leading the championship by 12 points ahead of Deletraz and by 24 ahead of Schothorst. Morris, O’Keeffe and Sasahara also remain with a mathematical shot at the title.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alex Albon KTR 12 laps in 26:14.414
2 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +1.466
3 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +1.846
4 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +2.320
5 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +2.982
6 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.764
7 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +3.980
8 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +4.111
9 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +4.782
10 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +5.709
11 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.195
12 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +6.703
13 Josef Zaruba AVF +8.460
14 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing +8.994
15 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +10.106
16 Matthew Graham AVF +10.767
17 Roy Geerts AVF +12.318
18 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +13.309
19 Cedric Freiburghaus Fragus BR Motorsport +13.986
20 Ivan Matveev Euronova +15.798
21 Harri Salminen PositiOne +16.715
22 Jake Hughes ART Junior Team +16.951
23 David Richert Inter Europol +19.586
24 Gregor Ramsay KTR +39.197
25 Jules Gounon AVF +2 laps
Not classified
Stefan Riener Speedfish Racing +7 laps
Inigo Bikuna AVF +10 laps