Home Featured Alex Palou leads Hitech GP one-two in second day of Hungaroring European F3 test

Alex Palou leads Hitech GP one-two in second day of Hungaroring European F3 test

by Ida Wood

Alex Palou topped the second day of European Formula 3 pre-season testing at the Hungaroring, with team-mate Enaam Ahmed making it a Hitech GP one-two.

Japanese F3 and Euroformula Open race-winner Palou set his best time in the morning session, with reigning BRDC British F3 champion Ahmed 0.274 seconds behind in second.

The positions reversed in the afternoon session, with Ahmed taking the top spot by 0.032 seconds.

Prema occupied third to sixth in the combined classification with Ralf Aron, Thursday pacesetter Mick Schumacher, whose Day 1 time was noy beaten by Palou, Robert Shwartzman and Guan Yu Zhou.

Aron and Schumacher were third and fourth fastest in the morning, with Shwartzman and Zhou doing the same in the afternoon.

Carlin got a single car into the top 10 with Sacha Fenestraz in seventh, but it was a troublesome day for the team, with its other five cars in 16th, 17th, 19th, 20th and 21st.

The third Hitech car driven by Ben Hingeley was eighth, with Italian F4 graduates Marcus Armstrong (Prema) and Sebastian Fernandez (Motopark) completing the top 10.

Macau Grand Prix winner Dan Ticktum was only the fourth fastest of the six Motopark drivers, but was the man to beat all day in the relatively fast first sector of the track.

Day two times

Pos Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Alex Palou Hitech 1:34.308 1:34.566
2 Enaam Ahmed Hitech 1:34.582 1:34.534
3 Ralf Aron Prema 1:34.624 1:34.851
4 Mick Schumacher Prema 1:34.651 1:34.897
5 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1:34.961 1:34.700
6 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1:34.806 1:34.707
7 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 1:34.740 ?1:35.068
8 Ben Hingeley ?Hitech ?1:34.890 ?1:34.778
9 Marcus Armstrong Prema ?1:34.922 ?1:35.054
10 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark ?1:34.946 ?1:35.333
11 Fabio Scherer Motopark ?1:34.951 ?1:35.380
12 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark ?1:34.964 ?1:35.599
13 Dan Ticktum Motopark ?1:35.004 ?1:35.451
14 Juri Vips Motopark 1:35.010 1:35.425
15 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing 1:35.046 1:35.047
16 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 1:35.232 1:35.426
17 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1:35.253 1:35.820
18 Marino Sato Motopark 1:35.609 1:35.274
19 Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin 1:35.452 1:35.812
20 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1:35.458 1:35.589
21 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin 1:35.467 1:35.677
22 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 1:36.528 1:35.476
23 Julian Hanses Ma-con 1:35.840 1:35.512