Home Featured Linus Lundqvist tops snow-shortened BRDC British F3 test at Spa

Linus Lundqvist tops snow-shortened BRDC British F3 test at Spa

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Mattias Persson / Motorsport Publication

Double R Racing’s Linus Lundqvist topped the opening day of BRDC British Formula 3 testing at Spa before the second of the two scheduled days was cancelled due to snow.

Lundqvist set a 2m16.189s on Wednesday afternoon, which was over six-tenths quicker than Fortec Motorsport’s Tristan Charpentier.

Karun Chandhok protege Kush Maini, who topped the series’ media day at?Donington Park, completed the top three for Lanan?Racing, just 0.027’s adrift of Charpentier’s best effort.

Ginetta Junior champion Tom Gamble was fifth for Fortec ahead of series returnees Krish Mahadik and Jamie Chadwick.? Fellow returnee Manuel Maldonado was seventh, with?Jusuf Owega eighth for Hillspeed.

Nicolai Kjaergaard led a Carlin 9-10-11, with a time 1.647s slower than Lundqvist’s benchmark.??Sun Yue Yang was 10th with Billy Monger 11th, as he continues preparations for a racing return.

Pavan Ravishankar was 12th fastest for?Double R Racing with?Douglas Motorsport’s?Arvin Esmaeili 13th. The latter along with?Sasakorn Chaimongkol were evaluating a full-year in the series.

Josh Mason,?Alexandra Mohnhaupt and?Ben Hurst completed the timesheet on day one, with the second day snowed off.

The grid will reconvene next Thursday for another two-day test ahead of the season opener at Oulton Park the same weekend.


BRDC British Formula 3 Spa-Francorchamps test results:
Pos Name Team Time/Gap
1 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing 2m16.189s
2 Tristan Charpentier Fortec Motorsports +0.610s
3 Kush Maini Lanan Racing +0.637s
4 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports +1.016s
5 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Double R Racing +1.174s
6 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport +1.334s
7 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +1.507s
8 Jusuf Owega Hillspeed +1.588s
9 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +1.647s
10 Sun Yue Yang Carlin +1.670s
11 Billy Monger Carlin +2.089s
12 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +2.800s
13 Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport +2.838s
14 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +2.920s
15 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +3.232s
16 Alexandra Mohnhaupt Douglas Motorsport +4.449s
17 Ben Hurst Hillspeed Racing +4.449s