Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Aitken celebrates maiden Eurocup victory in Hungary

Aitken celebrates maiden Eurocup victory in Hungary

by Gruz David
Jack Aitken

Photo: World Series by Renault

Jack Aitken converted his pole position to a victory in the second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race of the weekend at the Hungaroring.

The Briton had a good start and started to pull away from Gustav Malja before a safety car, brought out by his team-mate Martin Rump getting his car beached on a kerb, took away all his lead.

At the restart Malja lost his second place to Charles Leclerc and Aitken was able to capitalize on that. However, the Monegasque karting graduate closed in on him for the final laps of the race but he wasn’t able to make a move, allowing Aitken to take the win.

Leclerc and Ignazio D’Agosto, who also passed Malja at the restart, completed the podium with the Swede having to settle with fourth.

Fifth was Formula Renault NEC champion Matt Parry, who finished in the top ten for the third time this year, followed by championship frontrunners Nyck de Vries, Dennis Olsen and Andrea Pizzitola.

The top ten was completed by Steijn Schothorst, while Kevin Jorg in eleventh also scored a point, thanks to Leclerc’s guest driver status.

With two more weekends to go, de Vries extended his championship lead to 46 points over Olsen with Pizzitola further 12 points behind.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 15 laps in 27:55.150
2 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 0.573
3 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 1.548
4 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 4.892
5 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 5.701
6 Alex Albon KTR 6.188
7 Nyck De Vries Koiranen GP 6.635
8 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 7.117
9 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 7.658
10 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 9.793
11 Kevin J?rg Josef Kaufmann Racing 11.654
12 Jake Hughes Strakka Racing 12.088
13 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 14.199
14 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 14.725
15 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 15.456
16 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 15.937
17 Gregor Ramsay KTR 17.901
18 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 18.392
19 Simon Gachet ART Junior Team 19.220
20 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 19.729
21 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 22.607
22 James Allen ARTA Engineering 35.272
Not classified
Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +13 laps
Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +14 laps
Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP +15 laps
Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +15 laps
Matthew Graham Strakka Racing +15 laps