Home Featured Zhou takes pole for first Hockenheim F3 race, Schumacher seventh

Zhou takes pole for first Hockenheim F3 race, Schumacher seventh

by Peter Allen


Guan Yu Zhou edged Alex Palou for pole position for the first race of the Formula 3 European Championship finale at Hockenheim, as Mick Schumacher’s dominance ended with seventh place.

Zhou, who hasn’t won since the season-opening race in Pau and has slipped to ninth in the standings, clinched pole with a 1m32.335s lap with just over three minutes remaining, 0.02s faster than the effort Palou had made shortly beforehand.

There were only limited improvements in the last three minutes, with Robert Shwartzman able to move up to third, 0.035s off Zhou’s pole time.

Jehan Daruvala took fourth ahead of Juri Vips, while Marcus Armstrong was another to improve late on to beat team-mate Schumacher to sixth.

Schumacher, who took all three pole positions at both the Nurburgring and Red Bull Ring, twice topped the times inside the final 10 minutes but was displaced by Zhou and could not match the Chinese driver’s time.

He did however outqualify his nearest rival Dan Ticktum, who could only manage ninth. Schumacher will clinch the title in the opening race if he finishes in the points and ahead of Ticktum, and Armstrong does not win.

Impressively splitting Schumacher and Ticktum in eighth place was F3 debutant Frederik Vesti, despite the Van Amersfoort racer missing part of practice due to a black flag for exceeding track limits.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Guan Yu Zhou Prema 1m32.335s
2 Alex Palou Hitech GP +0.020s
3 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.035s
4 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +0.038s
5 Juri Vips Motopark +0.115s
6 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.146s
7 Mick Schumacher Prema +0.170s
8 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing +0.246s
9 Dan Ticktum Motopark +0.259s
10 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +0.263s
11 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +0.307s
12 Ralf Aron Prema +0.308s
13 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +0.363s
14 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +0.437s
15 Fabio Scherer Motopark +0.469s
16 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +0.543s
17 Julian Hanses Carlin +0.588s
18 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +0.590s
19 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +0.654s
20 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +0.676s
21 Marino Sato Motopark +0.777s
22 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +0.867s
23 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +1.122s
24 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +1.454s