Home Formula 2 Yuki Tsunoda leads Carlin 1-2 in Formula 2 qualifying at Sochi

Yuki Tsunoda leads Carlin 1-2 in Formula 2 qualifying at Sochi

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Yuki Tsunoda edged his Carlin team-mate Jehan Daruvala to earn his third pole position of the 2020 Formula 2 season at Sochi.

Daruvala, who had previously qualified no higher than sixth place this year, led for the majority of the session, jumping to the top of the order early on and gradually improving throughout qualifying.

It wasn’t until his final lap of the session that Red Bull and Honda protege Tsunoda was able to knock Daruvala off the top spot, managing a 1m48.688s lap to go quicker than anyone else.

Ferrari junior Mick Schumacher briefly knocked Daruvala down to third before the Carlin driver completed his final lap. Daruvala got to within 0.006s of Tsunoda, but it wasn’t enough to secure his first pole position of the season.

Points leader Schumacher rounded out the top three ahead of fellow Ferrari junior Callum Ilott.

Ilott ran into traffic on his first flying lap of qualifying, being held up by series veteran Luca Ghiotto after an issue for the Hitech GP driver.

He could only go seventh fastest after the first round of laps, though he did briefly improve to third overall before the final flying laps.

The Virtuosi Racing driver ended the day fourth, just ahead of Ghiotto and Christian Lundgaard, who also suffered from traffic problems on his laps.

Schumacher’s team-mate Robert Shwartzman earned his best qualifying result since Spa in seventh place and will line-up alongside Jack Aitken.

Guanyu Zhou (Virtuosi) and Hitech GP’s Nikita Mazepin round out the top 10.

Championship debutant Jake Hughes ran strong in the first half of qualifying, managing to put himself in the top 10 after the first round of flying laps, but dropped down the order as others found improvements. He starts 15th for his first F2 race.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m48.688s 12
2 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m48.694s +0.006s 12
3 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m48.883s +0.195s 12
4 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m49.047s +0.359s 10
5 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m49.230s +0.542s 11
6 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m49.252s +0.564s 11
7 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m49.284s +0.596s 11
8 Jack Aitken Campos 1m49.306s +0.618s 12
9 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m49.311s +0.623s 11
10 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m49.474s +0.786s 11
11 Juri Vips DAMS 1m49.639s +0.951s 11
12 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m49.680s +0.982s 11
13 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m49.699s +1.011s 11
14 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 1m49.869s +1.181s 10
15 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m49.962s +1.274s 10
16 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m49.976s +1.288s 9
17 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m50.214s +1.526s 11
18 Marino Sato Trident 1m50.349s +1.661s 11
19 Roy Nissany Trident 1m50.456s +1.768s 11
20 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m50.488s +1.800s 10
21 Giuliano Alesi MP Motorsport 1m50.943s +2.255s 8
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m51.375s +2.687s 11