Home Formula 3GB3 Voisin tops GB3 practice at Brands Hatch despite crash

Voisin tops GB3 practice at Brands Hatch despite crash

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin’s Callum Voisin led GB3 practice on Brands Hatch’s Grand Prix layout, but caused the Saturday morning session to end early by crashing.

Voisin, who currently sits third in the standings, beat fellow title contender Joel Granfors’ early benchmark of 1m21.207s to lead the way and then found a further 0.3 seconds on his next effort.

Arden’s Alex Connor briefly took over at the top of the times with a 1m20.179s, but Voisin again went quickest by 0.208s before losing control exiting Westfield bend and sliding across the wet grass into the barriers.

His team-mate Javier Sagrera moved up to second before the session was red-flagged, with Friday’s Indy test pace-setter David Morales beating team-mate Connor to third.

McKenzy Cresswell was fifth for Chris Dittmann Racing ahead of JHR Developments’ James Hedley. CDR’s new signing Zak Taylor was eighth, points leader Luke Browning was ninth, while Fortec’s Granfors was 14th.

Carlin’s Roberto Faria spent most of the session in the pits and did not post a time, only recording one completed lap of the track ahead of qualifying at 11:35 today.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m19.971s 8
2 Javier Sagrera Carlin 1m20.023s +0.052s 9
3 David Morales Arden 1m20.169s +0.198s 9
4 Alex Connor Arden 1m20.179s +0.208s 9
5 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.365s +0.394s 9
6 James Hedley JHR Developments 1m20.518s +0.547s 9
7 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.578s +0.607s 9
8 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.599s +0.628s 9
9 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m20.700s +0.729s 8
10 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport 1m20.792s +0.821s 9
11 Bryce Aron Hitech GP 1m20.869s +0.898s 8
12 John Bennett Elite Motorsport 1m21.015s +1.044s 6
13 Nico Christodoulou Arden 1m21.134s +1.163s 9
14 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m21.207s +1.236s 7
15 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m21.553s +1.582s 6
16 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport 1m21.875s +1.904s 8
17 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m22.388s +2.417s 7
18 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 1m23.016s +3.045s 7
19 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport 1m23.041s +3.070s 4
20 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed 1m23.129s +3.158s 8
21 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 1m27.232s +7.261s 6
22 Roberto Faria Carlin no time 1