Home Featured Vips takes Baku F2 pole after Iwasa crash

Vips takes Baku F2 pole after Iwasa crash

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Juri Vips claims his second Formula 2 pole position of the season on the streets of Baku.

The Hitech GP driver jumped to the top of the order with his penultimate flying lap of the session, setting a 1m53.762s lap time.

Vips improved in the first sector of his final lap, only to lose time in sector two and abandon the lap.

Fellow Red Bull junior Liam Lawson took the chequered flag with an improvement on his final lap of the session, but it was only enough for second place, 0.163 seconds slower than Vips.

Ayumu Iwasa, another Red Bull junior, was quickest as the session headed into the final six minutes. He had set a 1m54.483s lap, but as the field headed out for their second runs he made contact with the Turn 4 wall and stopped on track, bringing out red flags.

The session resumed with just 5m50s on the clock, enough to give most drivers two flying laps.

Richard Verschoor was the first driver to topple Iwasa’s time. Dennis Hauger also briefly went to the top, before Vips’ new benchmark was set. Hauger, the fourth of Red Bull’s juniors in F2, ended the session third quickest as an improvement on his final lap jumped him ahead of Hitech’s Marcus Armstrong.

Championship leader Felipe Drugovich placed fifth overall, while it was a difficult session for title rival Theo Pourchaire who could only manage to go 12th fastest.

Verschoore dropped back to sixth by the chequered flag, ahead of Logan Sargeant and Jehan Daruvala, while Frederik Vesti and Jake Hughes completed the top 10.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m53.762s 12
2 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m53.925s +0.163s 12
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m53.973s +0.211s 11
4 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m53.977s +0.215s 12
5 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m54.000s +0.238s 11
6 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m54.029s +0.267s 13
7 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m54.194s +0.432s 12
8 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m54.201s +0.439s 12
9 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m54.247s +0.485s 12
10 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.356s +0.594s 13
11 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m54.363s +0.601s 12
12 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m54.440s +0.678s 12
13 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m54.483s +0.721s 8
14 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m54.727s +0.965s 12
15 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m54.732s +0.970s 12
16 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m54.738s +0.976s 12
17 Calan Williams Trident 1m55.010s +1.248s 13
18 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m55.140s +1.378s 11
19 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.321s +1.559s 12
20 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m55.456s +1.694s 13
21 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m55.732s +1.970s 12
22 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m56.247s +2.485s 12