Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins on top again in Eurocup qualifying at Magny-Cours

Victor Martins on top again in Eurocup qualifying at Magny-Cours

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Frédéric Le Floc’h / DPPI

Victor Martins claimed Formula Renault Eurocup pole position at Magny-Cours, a week on from his double clean-sweep at the Nurburgring.

Martins and championship rival Caio Collet swapped fastest laps throughout the session, but it was Martins who held the advantage when the chequered flag fell.

Setting his best time of the day on his last lap, Martins completed a 1m33.589s lap around the French circuit.

Collet also improved with his final lap, settling the fastest final sector of the session, but it was only enough to go 0.007 seconds slower than Martins.

The session was red flagged early on as Reshad de Gerus came to a stop on track. Laszlo Toth had set the early pace, but the majority of the front runners, including Martins and Collet, were yet to set any time at all.

Once the session got under way, both the championship frontrunners, as well as Gregory Saucy and Lorenzo Colombo jumped to the top of the order, lowering the benchmark with every lap.

David Vidales spent most of the session outside the battle for pole but jumped up to third with his last lap.

Colombo finished fourth ahead of Alex Quinn, Ugo de Wilde and Hadrien David, who had been running second when the red flag was brought out.

Gregoire Saucy, Petr Ptacek and Amaury Cordeel completed the top 10.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m33.589s 10
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m33.596s +0.007s 10
3 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m33.728s +0.139s 11
4 Lorenzo Colombo  Bhaitech 1m33.955s +0.366s 10
5 Alex Quinn Arden 1m33.987s +0.398s 9
6 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m34.008s +0.419s 9
7 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m34.251s +0.662s 11
8 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m34.276s +0.687s 10
9 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m34.353s +0.764s 9
10 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m34.353s +0.764s 10
11 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m34.423s +0.834s 9
12 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m34.456s +0.867s 10
13 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m34.546s +0.957s 10
14 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m35.074s +1.485s 12
15 Vicky Piria Bhaitech 1m35.920s +2.331s 12
16 Reshad de Gerus Arden no time 2