Home Formula 2 Vandoorne on GP2 pole again ahead of Lynn in Barcelona

Vandoorne on GP2 pole again ahead of Lynn in Barcelona

by Peter Allen
Stoffel Vandoorne

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Stoffel Vandoorne stretched his streak of GP2 pole positions to six as he topped qualifying for round two in Barcelona by four tenths of a second from Alex Lynn.

After dominating free practice, pole for championship leader Vandoorne never really looked in doubt.

After an early red flag triggered by Artem Markelov‘s car stopping at Turn 4, the Belgian was the first driver to record a flying lap. That initial effort was good enough to remain the benchmark through the middle of the session, a tenth ahead of Lynn.

With three minutes remaining, Vandoorne’s second run produced a string of purple sectors to move more than six tenths of a second clear and make sure of his sixth consecutive pole position – he hasn’t been beaten in a qualifying session since Hungary last July.

Lynn was able to improve his time soon afterwards and although he fell 0.407s short of pole, the GP3 champion was able to better his third-place in qualifying in Bahrain.

DAMS missed out a third straight pole in Barcelona but took second and third with Lynn and Pierre Gasly, the Frenchman moving up from 13th on his second run.

After completing the top three behind Vandoorne in practice, Mitch Evans and Alexander Rossi found themselves relegated behind the DAMS drivers in qualifying.

Daniel De Jong improved towards the end to claim his best ever qualifying result of sixth ahead of Ferrari protege Raffaele Marciello and Bahrain sprint race winner Rio Haryanto.

Series debutant Nick Yelloly delivered a fine ninth place in Hilmer’s return to action after skipping Bahrain due to a lack of available drivers with funds. Julian Leal completed the top ten.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:29.273 9
2 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:29.680 0.407 12
3 Pierre Gasly DAMS 1:30.051 0.778 12
4 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1:30.106 0.833 10
5 Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1:30.154 0.881 10
6 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:30.169 0.896 9
7 Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:30.191 0.918 9
8 Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1:30.291 1.018 9
9 Nick Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 1:30.375 1.102 12
10 Julian Leal Carlin 1:30.402 1.129 12
11 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:30.411 1.138 9
12 Norman Nato Arden International 1:30.416 1.143 10
13 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:30.420 1.147 10
14 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:30.649 1.376 11
15 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:30.686 1.413 11
16 Sergio Canamasas MP Motorsport 1:30.722 1.449 13
17 Robert Visoiu Rapax 1:30.879 1.606 11
18 Marco Sorensen Carlin 1:30.891 1.618 9
19 Nathanael Berthon Lazarus 1:31.029 1.756 8
20 Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:31.042 1.769 10
21 Johnny Cecotto Hilmer Motorsport 1:31.049 1.776 10
22 Andre Negrao Arden International 1:31.390 2.117 10
23 Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:31.394 2.121 14
24 Rene Binder Trident 1:31.397 2.124 10
25 Zoel Amberg Lazarus 1:31.751 2.478 10
26 Artem Markelov Russian Time No time