Home News UAE and French F4 championships embark on Gen2 pre-season testing

UAE and French F4 championships embark on Gen2 pre-season testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

Pre-season testing for the first series to adopt second-generation Formula 4 machinery has begun, with the French and United Arab Emirates championships in action this week.

F4 UAE debuted its new Tatuus T-421 car last week with a support race at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, then has moved to Dubai Autodrome for the first of its official pre-season tests.

Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli was fastest on Thursday’s running, and marginally improved on his best laptime through Friday’s action.

In the opening test session of the day he set a 1m21.598s, 0.011 seconds up on his benchmark from the previous day, with Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema team-mate Charlie Wurz 0.061s slower in second place.

Conrad Laursen was third in the next Prema car, ahead of MP Motorsport’s Rik Koen and Richard Verschoor. The latter was absent from Formula 2 testing to instead drive for his former team as he coaches drivers there.

Nikita Bedrin put new German team PHM Racing in eighth place, 0.779s off Antonelli’s pace, with Luke Browning only marginally slower in ninth place as he shook down Hitech GP’s two cars.

Over in France, the new Mygale M21-F4 has been tested at Le Mans by a wide selection of drivers looking to compete in French F4 next year. The car, to be powered by an upgraded Renault engine once it’s used in the championship in 2022, was actually the first to make a competition appearance as it appeared in free practice sessions at the tail-end of this season.

Stephane Sarrazin’s son Pablo was one of the drivers at Le Mans, as he evaluates how to combine his rally and single-seater aspirations.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m21.598s 69
2 Charlie Wurz Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.061s 76
3 Conrad Laursen Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.121s 75
4 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +0.174s 67
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +0.174s 65
6 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.190s 76
7 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +0.364s 74
8 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +0.779s 66
9 Luke Browning Hitech GP +0.798s 81
10 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +0.819s 79
11 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +0.902s 67
12 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport +1.253s 71
13 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +1.289s 78
14 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +1.650s 71
15 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Pinnacle Motorsport +1.966s 80
16 Victoria Blokhina Cram Motorsport +2.207s 71
17 Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport +2.434s 83
18 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +10.570s 36