Home Featured Sargeant tops shortened session on second afternoon of F2 testing

Sargeant tops shortened session on second afternoon of F2 testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Carlin’s Logan Sargeant was fastest on the second afternoon of Formula 2 post-season testing at Yas Marina Circuit on Friday.

Sargeant went to the top of the times very early in the session, but didn’t appear in first place again until near the end as he set a 1m36.155s just before red flags were waved and kept drivers off-track for 15 minutes. When green flags were out again, only four-and-a-half minutes remained of the day’s action.

His team-mate Liam Lawson had been the driver to beat through most of the session, going to the top with a 1m36.802s in the first half-hour and then improving to a 1m36.608s during the final hour with nobody having opposed his and Sargeant’s lockout at the top.

There was a lengthy red flag period during the second hour, at which point DAMS was closest to Carlin’s pace with Roy Nissany and FIA Formula 3 Championship racer Ayumu Iwasa. Its drivers fell down the order as more drivers went on qualifying simulations in the final hour, with Red Bull-backed FIA F3 graduates Jack Doohan (Virtuosi Racing) and Dennis Hauger (Prema) both briefly goign fastest before Hauger’s team-mate and fellow Red Bull junior Jehan Daruvala set a 1m36.271s.

That stood as the fastest lap until Sargeant snuck in a new personal best just before the final red flag stoppage, and Hitech GP’s Marcus Armstrong managed to go third before the reds too.

Hauger, Doohan and Lawson made it three Red Bull drivers in fourth to sixth positions, while Sauber junior Juan Manuel Correa was just over half a second off the pace on his F2 return with Charouz Racing System.

Jake Hughes was eighth for the debuting Van Amersfoort Racing team, and Correa’s team-mate Guilherme Samaia and Hitech’s Juri Vips completed the top 10 on the afternono timesheet.

Test results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m36.155s 44
2 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m36.271s +0.116s 46
3 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m36.380s +0.225s 51
4 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m36.426s +0.271s 46
5 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m36.495s +0.340s 48
6 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m36.608s +0.453s 48
7 Juan Manuel Correa Charouz Racing System 1m36.687s +0.532s 41
8 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.783s +0.628s 34
9 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m36.864s +0.709s 45
10 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m36.921s +0.766s 51
11 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m36.992s +0.837s 49
12 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m37.000s +0.845s 48
13 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m37.094s +0.939s 42
14 Teppei Natori Trident 1m37.150s +0.995s 51
15 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m37.478s +1.323s 60
16 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.480s +1.325s 45
17 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m37.610s +1.455s 51
18 Calan Williams Trident 1m37.903s +1.748s 44
19 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m38.938s +2.783s 62
20 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m38.999s +2.844s 38
21 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m39.042s +2.887s 46
22 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m39.396s +3.241s 50