Home News Tsolov battles Barter late on for second Spa Spanish F4 win

Tsolov battles Barter late on for second Spa Spanish F4 win

by Peter Allen

Photo: Spanish F4

Nikola Tsolov repassed his Campos Racing team-mate Hugh Barter on the final lap of race two at Spa-Francorchamps to continue his Spanish Formula 4 winning streak.

Unlike in race one, Tsolov managed to hold the lead for most of the race despite the attempts of his rivals to slipstream past down the Kemmel Straight. Barter and Valerio Rinicella made it three-wide into Les Combes on lap one but Tsolov held the lead on the inside.

The safety car was then required on lap two for an incident at La Source involving Alvaro Garcia and Sebastian Gravlund.

Tsolov retained the lead after the restart but come the penultimate lap, Barter was close enough to draft past before Les Combes. On the final lap, Tsolov got back alongside Barter on the approach to Les Combes and, despite entering the corner on the outside, emerged with the lead.

Kirill Smal passed his MP Motorsport team-mate Rinicella after the restart to take third.

Just as the lead changed hands on the penultimate lap, Georg Kelstrup went three-wide with Robert de Haan and Gael Julien and won out in a fight for fifth ahead of de Haan.

Julien was pushed back to 11th, with Manuel Espirito Santo taking seventh ahead of Bruno del Pino, Ricardo Escotto and Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 21m22.942s
2 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +0.513s
3 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +2.576s
4 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +5.195s
5 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing +6.549s
6 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport +6.913s
7 Manuel Espirito Santo Teo Martin Motorsport +7.994s
8 Bruno del Pino Drivex School +9.031s
9 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport +9.144s
10 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +9.733s
11 Gael Julien Drivex School +10.540s
12 Filip Jenic Campos Racing +13.058s
13 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +13.291s
14 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +13.521s
15 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +13.650s
16 Tymek Kucharczyk MP Motorsport +14.228s
17 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport +15.082s
18 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones +15.686s
19 Vladislav Ryabov GRS Team +16.112s
20 Marcos Flack GRS Team +18.929s
21 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +20.679s
22 Lola Lovinfosse Teo Martin Motorsport +21.993s
23 Max Arkhangelskii Drivex School +22.473s
24 Ricardo Gracia GRS Team +22.668s
25 Nelson Neto Cram Motorsport +22.842s
26 Ethan Ischer Sainteloc Racing +23.314s
27 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport +27.050s
28 Aurelia Nobels Formula de Campeones +31.116s
29 Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport +32.498s
Ret Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport
Ret Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones
Fastest lap: Barter, 2m24.712s

Championship standings
1 Tsolov 210   2 Kucharczyk 112   3 Barter 99   4 Kelstrup 73   5 Smal 71   6 Inthraphuvasak 56   7 Jenic 56   8 Rinicella 54   9 Zanfari 52   10 Espirito Santo 46