Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Tramnitz victorious against eight-car grid in ADAC F4 at Sachsenring

Tramnitz victorious against eight-car grid in ADAC F4 at Sachsenring

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ADAC

Tim Tramnitz held off Ollie Bearman to win the opening ADAC Formula 4 race of the weekend at the Sachsenring.

It was an eight-car field by the time the race began, after Michael Sauter was forced to sit out the race due to an earlier accident in qualifying damaging his car, and only seven drivers would finish.

Tramnitz started on pole, but fellow front-row man Bearman got the best start. Tramnitz dived across the track to cut Bearman off, making slight contact but retaining the lead.

Bearman came under pressure from Luke Browning, allowing Tramnitz to make a small gap back to the Van Amersfoort Racing driver.

The gap was cut back to nothing when Marcus Amand lost control of his car and spun into the gravel, bringing out the safety car.

Racing resumed with 10 minutes remaining. Tramnitz left it as late as possible before restarting and managed to get the jump on Bearman and Browning behind.

In the closing stages the three closed back up, as puffs of smoke occasionally appeared from the back of Tramnitz’s car. Bearman was unable to take advantage of any issues Tramnitz may have had as Browning made multiple attempts to climb up to second.

By the chequered flag, Tramnitz had just over a second over Bearman, who held off Browning.

Victor Bernier and Nikita Bedrin spent much of the second half of the race battling for position before a wide moment for Bedrin sent him through the gravel. Bedrin came into the pits, though did not stop, and continued to circulate at the back of the pack.

Bernier closed in on the battling Browning and Bearman late on but ran out of laps before he could challenge for position. Vlad Lomko took fifth, ahead of Sami Meguetounif and Bedrin.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 22 laps
2 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing +1.084s
3 Luke Browning US Racing +1.394s
4 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +1.997s
5 Vlad Lomko US Racing +8.161s
6 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP +8.731s
7 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +1m07.224s
Ret Marcus Amand R-ace GP
DNS Michael Sauter Sauter Engineering + Design
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m19.782s

Championship standings
1 Bearman 185   2 Tramnitz 143   3 Browning 120   4 Bernier 80   5 Bedrin 76   6 Sebastian Montoya 72   7 Kirill Smal 70   8 Joshua Dufek 58   9 Lomko 53   10 Alex Dunne 36