Home Featured Theo Pourchaire takes second straight FIA F3 win from eventful Hungaroring opener

Theo Pourchaire takes second straight FIA F3 win from eventful Hungaroring opener

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Theo Pourchaire became the first double winner in the 2020 FIA Formula 3 championship after a strong drive in mixed conditions at the Hungaroring.

Pourchaire – who last weekend became the youngest ever winner in Formula 1’s third tier – inherited the race lead after Logan Sargeant collided with pole-sitter Alexander Smolyar at the first corner on the opening lap, eliminating Smolyar.

Damp conditions in the first portion of the race lead to many wide moments and a spin from Calan Williams behind the Sargeant-Smolyar clash collected both Frederik Vesti and Oscar Piastri, though Piastri was able to continue.

Piastri was running second when the red flags were brought out due to a fiery oil spill from Liam Lawson, who retired from the race.

On the restart, Piastri kept the pressure on Pourchaire, but the ART driver was eventually able to shake him.

While Piastri battled with team-mate Sargeant, Pourchaire consistently set fastest laps to extend his lead, eventually finishing 11.920s ahead of the championship leader.

Avoiding a penalty for taking Smolyar out of the race, Sargeant held onto third ahead of Bent Viscaal, who managed to find a way past Richard Verschoor in the closing stages of the race after a race-long battle with his MP Motorsport team-mate.

After avoiding a collision with Lawson’s leaking car, Sebastian Fernandez ran fourth before falling behind the Dutch duo.

Enzo Fittipaldi had been set for his best result of the season when he passed both Alex Peroni and Max Fewtrell at the restart, but the HWA driver was one of a number of drivers who received penalties for infringements during the red flag and safety car period, and he dropped backwards after serving a drive through penalty.

Peroni reclaimed the position to finish seventh, while Fewtrell dropped backwards with steering issues.

Clement Novalak had a strong drive up through the field to finish ninth after starting 26th on the grid. He spent the final laps in a battle with Dennis Hauger but couldn’t find a way past the Red Bull junior, who scored his first F3 points in eighth.

David Beckmann completed the top 10 and will start race two from the reversed-grid pole.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1h03m55.424s
2 Oscar Piastri Prema +11.920s
3 Logan Sargeant Prema +14.739s
4 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport +17.360s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +18.063s
6 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +19.636s
7 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +21.431s
8 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +21.656s
9 Clement Novalak Carlin +22.208s
10 David Beckmann Trident +22.951s
11 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +23.428s
12 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +27.298s
13 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +27.972s
14 Enaam Ahmed Carlin +28.597s
15 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System +30.883s
16 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +31.265s
17 Cameron Das Carlin +34.777s
18 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +36.352s
19 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +36.629s
20 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +38.432s
21 Olli Caldwell Trident +44.026s
22 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +47.482s
23 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +49.705s
24 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +1m02.217s
Ret Lirim Zendeli Trident +16 laps
Ret Liam Lawson Hitech GP +18 laps
Ret Jack Doohan HWA Racelab +19 laps
Ret Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +21 laps
Ret Frederik Vesti Prema +22 laps
Ret Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +22 laps
Fastest lap: Hughes, 1m34.195s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 62   2 Sargeant 49   3 Pourchaire 43   4 Vesti 37.5   5 Verschoor 37   6 Beckmann 32.5   7 Zendeli 26   8 Lawson 25   9 Peroni 23   10 Fernandez 14