Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Maclennan wins wet season-opening National FF1600 race at Oulton Park

Maclennan wins wet season-opening National FF1600 race at Oulton Park

by Ida Wood

Kevin Mills Racing’s Neil Maclennan started the BRSCC National FF1600 season with victory at a wet Oulton Park.

The Scot made the most of clean air to take pole in qualifying, which was also wet, and made a string getaway on a damp grid at the start of the race.

Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst wheelspun his way off the second place grid spot, dropping him behind Low Dempsey Racing’s Jonathan Browne and B-M Racing’s Rory Smith.

Browne held on to second for two laps before Smith, whose Medina chassis had superior traction in the wet due to its shorter wheelbase, found a way way through.

Smith immediately jumped on to Maclennan’s gearbox and even went side-by-side up Clay Hill before having to back out as the safety car was summoned to recover Oldfield Motorsport debutant Daniel Mackintosh, who had spun off at Druids.

Maclennan mastered the restart after several laps at reduced speed, but couldn’t hold off Smith’s attacks and was passed before the end of the lap.

The restart proved tricky for those further back in the spray, and another crash led to the race being red flagged shortly after the front drivers crossed the line to complete seven laps.

Just as the red flags were shown, Oldfield’s Milan De Laet was then rear-ended and Myerscough College’s Jack Wolfenden also went off, and the chequered flag was shown not long after as it was decided not to restart the race.

Due to the red flag, the results were taken back a lap and meant Maclennan was named victor ahead of Smith – who set fastest lap – and Browne.

Middlehurst got stronger as the race went on and finished on Browne’s tail, while his team-mate and defending champion Ross Martin finished a lonely fifth after the third Dolan car of Matt Cowley fell down the order after the safety car restart.

Souley Motorsport’s Ollie White pipped B-M’s Jamie Sharp to sixth by 0.022 seconds, with the third B-M car of David McArthur a further half-second behind.

LDR’s American rookies Bryce Aron and Grant Palmer rounded out the top 10.

The winner of the BRSCC Northern FF1600 classification was Peter Daly, who finished 16th in his Van Diemen RF88.

BRSCC Northern Pre-’90 drivers in italics


Race results (6 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing 16m46.472s
2 Rory Smith B-M Racing +0.709s
3 Jonathan Browne Low Dempsey Racing +1.121s
4 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +1.318s
5 Ross Martin Team Dolan +2.358s
6 Ollie White Souley Motorsport +5.622s
7 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +5.644s
8 David McArthur B-M Racing +6.102s
9 Bryce Aron Low Dempsey Racing +6.311s
10 Grant Palmer Low Dempsey Racing +7.615s
11 Adrian Campfield Kevin Mills Racing +8.815s
12 Alex Walker PWR1 Racing +9.136s
13 Luke Cooper Swift Cooper +9.604s
14 Reece Lycett Kevin Mills Racing +11.439s
15 Tom Ward B-M Racing +14.114s
16 Peter Daly +15.508s
17 Nigel Dolan +18.022s
18 Andrew Thomas BB Motorsport +18.721s
19 Neil Plimmer +19.603s
20 Matt Cowley Team Dolan +23.470s
21 Sam Harrison Tim Harrison Engineering +23.511s
22 Neil Patten Souley Motorsport +24.166s
23 Colin Lawson +25.091s
24 Jason Cheetham +30.899s
25 Trevor Morgan DB Motorsport +33.334s
26 Neil McArthur B-M Racing +39.070s
27 Seamus Wild +42.229s
28 Phil Nelson +42.774s
29 Simon Fraser +45.934s
30 Jonathan Barnes Souley Motorsport +46.590s
Ret Morgan Quinn Team Dolan
Ret Jack Wolfenden Myerscough College
Ret Milan De Laet Oldfield Motorsport
Ret Daniel Mackinstosh Oldfield Motorsport
Pole: Maclennan, 2m05.454s      Fastest lap: Smith, 2m04.942s