Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Theo Pourchaire edges closer to ADAC F4 title with race two win

Theo Pourchaire edges closer to ADAC F4 title with race two win

by Tim Lumb

Theo Pourchaire edged closer to winning the 2019 ADAC Formula 4 title with victory in the second race of the Sachsenring season finale.

The US Racing driver held second place at the start behind race one winner Mikhael Belov, but didn’t take long to acquire the lead.

Championship leader Pourchaire was able to pull out a lead, but two safety car periods brought Prema’s Gianluca Petecof and title rival Dennis Hauger into contention.

With around three minutes remaining in the race after the second safety car period ended, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Hauger made a move on the outside of Petecof stick and started to look for a way around Pourchaire.

However, a final safety car at the first corner with one minute remaining scuppered Hauger’s chances of passing Pourchaire for victory. Sauber junior Pourchaire now holds a 14-point lead over Hauger going into the final race.

Petecof kept hold of the final podium position ahead of Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen – who retired from the opening race of the weekend – in fourth, while R-ace GP’s Gregoire Saucy finished in fifth.

Arthur Leclerc dropped out of title contention after finishing sixth, a position he had to scrap for after losing it with a trip through the gravel. He finished ahead of team-mates Alessandro Ghiretti and Roman Stanek in seventh and eighth respectively.

Belov ended up in ninth after falling down the field early on in the race, while Lucas Alecco Roy – who was fortunate to be able to escape the incident that caused the final safety car – rounded off the top 10.


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Theo Pourchaire US Racing 31m20.913s
2 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing +1.108s
3 Gianluca Petecof Prema +1.718s
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +3.529s
5 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +3.848s
6 Arthur Leclerc US Racing +5.688s
7 Alessandro Ghiretti US Racing +6.442s
8 Roman Stanek US Racing +7.134s
9 Mikhael Belov R-ace GP +7.644s
10 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +8.255s
11 Paul Aron Prema +34.431s
12 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +2 laps
13 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +2 laps
14 Nico Gohler Mucke Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Lazslo Toth R-ace GP
Ret Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Kristian Thaqi Mucke Motorsport
Fastest lap: Petecof, 1m19.935s

Championship standings
1 Pourchaire 240? ?2 Hauger 226? ?3 Leclerc 185? ?4 Stanek 157? ?5 Petecof 154? ?6 Ghiretti 136? ?7 Aron 123? ?8 Belov 122? ?9 Niklas Krutten 93? ?10 Saucy 93