Home Formula 4British F4 Louis Foster leads Double R one-two in British F4 Silverstone opener

Louis Foster leads Double R one-two in British F4 Silverstone opener

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Louis Foster headed a Double R Racing one-two in the opening British Formula 4 race at Silverstone.

Foster led from start to finish to take his second consecutive victory. He put in multiple fastest laps in the opening stages of the race to build a gap of almost four seconds to team-mate Sebastian Alvarez, but slowed to conserve his tyres later on.

Alvarez was able to close the gap to 1.313 seconds, and brings him just seven points off championship leader Zane Maloney.

Carlin’s Maloney suffered a lock-up while battling with title rival Josh Skelton on the opening lap and dropped back to sixth. He then lost time trying to pass Arden’s Alex Connor but was eventually able to take fifth midway through the race.

He managed to close the gap to Carter Williams for fourth, keeping the pressure on the JHR Developments driver and forcing Williams to push on and catch team-mate Skelton.

They made it a three-way battle for the final podium position in the final laps, with Williams almost able to get alongside Skelton on the final lap, but Skelton held on to take his ninth consecutive podium finish. Maloney finished fifth behind them.

Connor led a three-way battle for sixth over Fortec Motorsports’ resurgent Mariano Martinez and Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning, who had started from last on the grid.

Roberto Faria (Fortec) and Abbie Munro (Arden) completed the top 10. Championship debutant Christopher Lulham finished 10th on track for Fortec, but was demoted a place by a penalty for a false start.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Louis Foster Double R Racing 20m53.945s
2 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +1.313s
3 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +4.447s
4 Carter Williams JHR Developments +4.576s
5 Zane Maloney Carlin +4.918s
6 Alex Connor Arden +13.771s
7 Mariano Martinez Fortec Motorsports +17.724s
8 Luke Browning Richardson Racing +17.966s
9 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +18.187s
10 Abbie Munro Arden +21.465s
11 Christopher Lulham Fortec Motorsports +31.694s
12 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +33.499s
Ret Alex Walker JHR Developments
Ret Tommy Foster Arden
Ret Bart Horsten Arden
Fastest lap: L Foster, 56.398s

Championship standings
1 Maloney 349? ?2 Alvarez 342? ?3 L Foster 297? ?4 Skelton 293.5? ?5 Williams 216? ?6 Horsten 212.5? ?7 Browning 194.5? ?8 T Foster 185? ?9 Connor 120? ?10 Joe Turney 111