Home News Sundaramoorthy tops first USF2000 qualifying at New Jersey

Sundaramoorthy tops first USF2000 qualifying at New Jersey

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Yuven Sundaramoorthy beat championship leader Kiko Porto to pole position for the first of three USF2000 races at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

An early effort from Christian Brooks headed the times before Sundaramoorthy managed his lap of 1m17.3411s with seven-and-a-half minutes remaining.

Porto climbed up from sixth place to second not long afterwards, falling 0.06 seconds short of Sundaramoorthy’s time.

The time from Brooks remained good enough for third, but Josh Green did leap up to fourth place with one minute left on the clock.

Josh Pierson slipped from second to fifth in the closing stages, with Michael d’Orlando – the closest driver to Porto in the championship – claiming sixth.

Back in USF2000 after making his Indy Pro 2000 debut at Gateway one week ago, Nolan Siegel was seventh.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m17.3411s 9
2 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m17.4016s +0.0605s 9
3 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport 1m17.5804s +0.2393s 11
4 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m17.6499s +0.3088s 9
5 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing 1m17.6673s +0.3262s 11
6 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m17.7050s +0.3639s 9
7 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m17.7759s +0.4348s 9
8 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m17.7866s +0.4455s 11
9 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing 1m17.8544s +0.5133s 10
10 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m17.9231s +0.5820s 10
11 Myles Rowe Force Indy 1m17.9389s +0.5978s 8
12 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m18.1855s +0.8444s 13
13 Spike Kohlbecker Ignite Autosports w/Cape 1m18.2374s +0.8963s 10
14 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport 1m18.2431s +0.9020s 9
15 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing 1m18.3898s +1.0487s 11
16 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports 1m18.4689s +1.1278s 8
17 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing 1m18.6627s +1.3216s 13
18 Evan Stamer Ignite Autosports w/Cape 1m18.6928s +1.3517s 9
19 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development 1m18.7660s +1.4249s 6
20 Peter Vodanovich Jay Howard Driver Development 1m18.9068s +1.5657s 6
21 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m19.1328s +1.7917s 12
22 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m19.1952s +1.8541s 14
23 Nathan Byrd Legacy Autosport 1m20.1708s +2.8297s 12