Home Formula 4Danish F4 Stromsted wins again in Danish F4 dice-turned-domination

Stromsted wins again in Danish F4 dice-turned-domination

by Ida Wood

Photo: Boxengasse Media – Motorsport Photo & PR

Noah Stromsted picked up another Danish Formula 4 win in the second Ring Djursland race, as points leader Mads Hoe retired.

Team FSP’s rookie Stromsted started from fifth on the grid, and made up one position on the opening lap to slot in behind Sebastian Gravlund, Emmo Fittipaldi and Juju Noda.

After five laps there was just 0.85 seconds covering the top four, which now had Noda at the tail of it as Stromsted made a move for third place.

On the next lap he cleared Gravlund for second place and was just a third of a second behind new leader Fittipaldi, then he jumped out of his slipstream down the pit straight on the next lap to take the lead by 0.087s.

They ran together around the next tour of the sub-minute lap, and this time Stromsted crossed line just 0.088s ahead. His defences after that managed to shake off Fittipaldi though, and in the second half of the race he pulled away to finish 4.837s ahead and with five wins from seven races in his single-seater career.

As Stromsted was hastling Fittipaldi for the lead, the cars following closely behind had to be careful and that resulted in Gravlund and Noda dropping down the order mid-race.

Noda was able to recover her lost places, moving past Gravlund and then William Wulf for fourth. However Stromsted’s burst of late pace meant she finished 5.722s down on the winner, and just behind third-placed finisher Jacob Bjerring, when she had been less than two seconds behind while the lead was still being disputed.

Hoe started the race in seventh and rather unusually didn’t made any progress, actually getting passed by team-mate Mads Riis at one point. After that he then dropped to 11th, before taking to the pits late on and ending his race there.

Race results (19 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Noah Stromsted Team FSP 16m25.309s
2 Emmo Fittipaldi Team FSP +4.837s
3 Jacob Bjerring Mads Hoe Motorsport +5.433s
4 Juju Noda Noda Racing +5.722s
5 William Wulf Team FSP +10.859s
6 Sebastian Gravlund Team Formula Sport +16.006s
7 Mads Riis Mads Hoe Motorsport +21.002s
8 Line Sonderskov Sonderskov Motorsport +35.517s
9 Frederik Stena SD Racing +41.850s
10 Mille Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport +52.094s
11 Michella Rasmussen Henriksen Racing +1m00.952s
Ret Mads Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport
Ret Peter Henriksen Henriksen Racing
DNS Frederik Lund Team Formula Sport
Fastest lap: Stromsted, 50.421s

Championship standings
Mads Hoe 242   Fittipaldi 193   3 Bjerring 163   4 Stromsted 143   5 Wulf 131   6 Noda 123   7 Mads Riis 107   8 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr 62   9 Mille Hoe 62   10 Sonderskov 60