Home Formula 4British F4 Cresswell converts pole to victory in British F4 Croft opener

Cresswell converts pole to victory in British F4 Croft opener

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

JHR Developments’ McKenzy Cresswell took his first British Formula 4 victory in a non-reversed grid race by dominating proceedings at Croft.

Cresswell pulled ahead on the opening lap from pole position, as team-mate Matthew Rees was overhauled by Fortec Motorsport’s Joel Granfors.

From there, Cresswell’s pace in the 20-minute race was stronger than Granfors’, and he was able to open up a three-second lead. By the end, the gap was 3.845s for Cresswell to take his third win.

Granfors took his third podium in as many races with second, while Rees found himself pressured throughout by title rival Matias Zagazeta.

JHR’s Joseph Loake rounded out the top five, ahead of Arden’s Zak Taylor and Argenti Motorsport’s Aiden Neate, who did not get a good start from fourth on the grid.

Outside title contender Oliver Gray was eighth, ahead of a long scrap over ninth place.

Argenti’s Eduardo Coseteng was under pressure throughout from Carlin’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, with Argenti’s Marcos Flack also very much in the mix.

Long-time points leader James Hedley was in the ninth-place scrap, but could only finish 12th after starting 13th with his only progress being a late move on Carlin team-mate Kai Askey late-on.

Adren’s David Morales and Carlin’s Dougie Bolger swapped places on a couple of occasions, with returnee Georgi Dimitrov last of the 16 runners but having closed up to the rest of the train by the flag.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 20m18.800s
2 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +3.845s
3 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +6.115s
4 Matias Zagazeta Argenti Motorsport +6.590s
5 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +8.071s
6 Zak Taylor Arden +12.955s
7 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +13.414s
8 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports +14.461s
9 Eduardo Coseteng Argenti Motorsport +18.548s
10 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin +18.869s
11 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport +19.078s
12 James Hedley Carlin +19.706s
13 Kai Askey Carlin +20.031s
14 David Morales Arden +21.130s
15 Dougie Bolger Carlin +22.065s
16 Georgi Dimitrov Arden +22.809s
Fastest lap: Cresswell, 1m20.375s

Championship standings
Rees 202   2 Zagazeta 195   1 Hedley 179   4 Granfors 173   4 Cresswell 168   5 Gray 143   Loake 121   7 Abbi Pulling 97   9 Taylor 78   10 Askey 68