Home Formula 4Italian F4 Stroll sets pace in free practice for Italian F4 opener at Adria

Stroll sets pace in free practice for Italian F4 opener at Adria

by Peter Allen
Lance Stroll

Photo: ACI Sport

Lance Stroll posted the fastest time of the two free practice sessions ahead of the first round of the Italian F4 Championship at Adria.

The Ferrari protege topped the first session with a time of 1m15.980s, and ended up being the only driver to dip below the 1m16s mark during the two sessions.

After topping the earlier shakedown session, ex-Ferrari driver Brandon Maisano was second to Prema team-mate Stroll in the opening session.

A quartet of Itlaians was next, with Diegi’s Andrea Russo ahead of Antonelli’s Matteo Cairoli, Cram’s Mattia Drudi and Euronova’s Leonardo Pulcini.

Brazilian DAV Racing driver Gustavo Bandeira was seventh ahead of Jenzer’s Alain Valente, Euronova’s Ivan Matveev and Cram’s Max Defourny.

The later session was close at the top, with Russo posting the fastest time and Maisano and Stroll setting the same time, just 0.007s slower than Russo.

Cairoli, Drudi and Pulcini completed the top six once again, with Valente seventh ahead of late Euronva stand-in Ukyo Sasahara. Joao Vieira was ninth with Matveev tenth.

Practice results
Pos Driver? Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:15.980 1:16.086
2 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport 1:16.241 1:16.079
3 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:16.106 1:16.086
4 Matteo Cairoli Antonelli Motorsport 1:16.415 1:16.332
5 Mattia Drudi Cram Motorsport 1:16.514 1:16.553
6 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing 1:16.549 1:16.564
7 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing 1:16.612 1:16.829
8 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:16.622 1:16.626
9 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova 1:16.625 1:16.828
10 Max Defourny Cram Motorsport 1:16.633 1:17.008
11 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing 1:16.794 1:16.658
12 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport 1:17.068 1:16.779
13 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 1:17.602 1:16.968
14 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam 1:17.369 1:17.157
15 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:17.304 1:17.393
16 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:17.849 1:17.375
17 Bar Baruch Israel F4 1:17.415 1:17.661
18 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:17.437 1:17.420
19 Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport 1:17.454 1:17.477
20 Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport 1:17.487 1:17.787
21 Giovanni Altoe Cram Motorsport 1:18.515 1:18.792
22 Zack Dante Malta Formula Racing 1:18.768 1:18.548