Home Featured Sergio Sette Camara tops F2 free practice in Baku

Sergio Sette Camara tops F2 free practice in Baku

by Ida Wood

Sergio Sette Camara

Carlin’s Sergio Sette Camara topped Formula 2 free practice in Baku, which was interrupted by technical issues for several drivers.

Bahrain sprint race winner Artem Markelov and Alexander Albon stopped on track in the first 15 minutes, with Albon doing so near the pit exit. The Virtual Safety Car was required to move the stricken cars.

Prema pair Nyck de Vries and Sean Gelael were first and second at this point, but were quicky displaced by Camara, who then traded lap times with team-mate Lando Norris and Campos Racing’s Luca Ghiotto.

MP Motorsport’s Ralph Boschung also briefly went fastest, and had slipped back behind Camara when the VSC was brought out for its compulsory test use.

Green flags were waved for the final two minutes, with Ghiotto reclaiming second.

DAMS driver Albon recovered from his early issues to claim fourth, ahead of ART Grand Prix’s George Russell, Norris and Russian Time’s Tadisuke Makino.

These top seven drivers were all within a nine tenths of the top time, with a near four tenth gap before the next bunch of cars headed by Charouz Racing System’s Antonio Fuoco.

Notable drivers at the back included Markelov, whose Russian Time car didn’t return to track, and de Vries, who set a late lap to climb to 17th, one place behind Nicholas Latifi.


Free Practice results?
Pos Name Team Time
1 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1m57.136s
2 Luca Ghiotto Campos Racing +0.072s
3 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport +0.493s
4 Alexander Albon DAMS +0.808s
5 George Russell ART Grand Prix +0.826s
6 Lando Norris Carlin +0.840s
7 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time +0.861s
8 Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System +1.249s
9 Arjun Maini Trident +1.295s
10 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden +1.578s
11 Sean Gelael Prema +1.642s
12 Roy Nissany Campos Racing +1.945s
13 Maximilian Gunther Arden +2.191s
14 Santino Ferrucci Trident +2.389s
15 Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix +2.517s
16 Nicholas Latifi DAMS +2.631s
17 Nyck de Vries Prema +3.599s
18 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System +3.939s
19 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport +4.680s
20 Artem Markelov Russian Time +29.684s