Home Featured Sergio Sette Camara grabs Hungaroring pole in final moments of F2 qualifying

Sergio Sette Camara grabs Hungaroring pole in final moments of F2 qualifying

by Tim Lumb

Sergio Sette Camara claimed his maiden Formula 2 pole position with a last gasp effort at the Hungaroring.

The Carlin driver set a lap time of 1m27.400s on his final lap, beating ART Grand Prix’s Jack Aitken by just 0.030s, having not been in the battle for pole position for the majority of the qualifying session.

Sette Camara is currently sixth in the drivers’ championship, despite being absent from both races in Monaco due to injury.

Aitken and his championship leading team-mate George Russell topped the times at the beginning of the session, with not much changing in the order during the opening half of qualifying.

That changed when Nyck de Vries went fastest half-way into the session with a 1m27.631s lap that was particularly strong in the first two sectors. He ended the session in third.

With nine minutes to go Aitken went two tenths of a second faster and looked the most likely to claim pole position until Sette Camara’s final second effort.

Russell was close to going faster on his final lap with six minutes to go, claiming the best second sector time at that point in the session, but wasn’t able to make anymore time up. The British driver will start the feature race in fourth.

Behind him on the third row of the grid will be Luca Ghiotto, who set his fastest lap a few seconds before Aitken, and Sette Camara’s Carlin team-mate Lando Norris.

Artem Markelov made use of a quiet period on the track before De Vries’ lap time to go fifth fastest at the time, which was good enough in the end for seventh. Arjun Maini will start alongside him for Trident.

The fifth row of the grid was completed by MP Motorsport’s Ralph Boschung and Charouz’s Louis Deletraz.

Alessio Lorandi was 17th fastest on his F2 debut for Trident, replacing the banned Santino Ferrucci.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1m27.400s
2 Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix +0.030s
3 Nyck de Vries Prema +0.231s
4 George Russell ART Grand Prix +0.362s
5 Luca Ghiotto Campos Racing +0.428s
6 Lando Norris Carlin +0.464s
7 Artem Markelov Russian Time +0.557s
8 Arjun Maini Trident +0.558s
9 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport +0.573s
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System +0.632s
11 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden +0.638s
12 Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System +0.673s
13 Alexander Albon DAMS +0.707s
14 Nicholas Latifi DAMS +0.724s
15 Maximilian Gunther Arden +0.769s
16 Roy Nissany Campos Racing +0.948s
17 Alessio Lorandi Trident +1.133s
18 Sean Gelael Prema +1.248s
19 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport +1.324s
20 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time +1.350s