Home Formula FordBritish FFord Scott wins Formula Ford finale but Kruger is provisional champion

Scott wins Formula Ford finale but Kruger is provisional champion

by Peter Allen
Harrison Scott

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Harrison Scott drove to victory in the final ever British Formula Ford series race at Brands Hatch, but eighth place was enough for his season-long rival Jayde Kruger to provisionally secure the 2014 title.

Scott took the lead from pole-sitter Ashley Sutton when the MBM driver ran wide on lap two, and claimed victory by half a second – the chequered flag being waved just before the race time expired as rain began to fall heavily.

Kruger lost two places from sixth to eighth at the start, and after trying and failing to get back past Louise Richardson he backed off and settled for eighth, knowing that a top ten finish was sufficient.

He finishes six points ahead of Scott in the final standings, pending an appeal against the results of race two when he and Scott made contact while fighting for the lead, causing Scott to retire.

Ricky Collard took third place, benefiting from off-track moments by Max Marshall and later James Abbott. Marshall was running fourth behind Abbott when he lost out in a fight with Juan Rosso – Collard benefiting to take both places. Abbott would then fall to sixth behind Rosso and Marshall when he slid wide at Graham Hill Bend.

Richardson, Kruger, Chris Mealin and Jack Barlow completed the top ten finishers – the latter surviving contact with Clay Mitchell, who would finish a lap down after finding the gravel late on.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Harrison Scott Falcon Motorsport 13 laps in 18:57.085
2 Ashley Sutton MBM Motorsport +0.552
3 Ricky Collard Falcon Motorsport +10.021
4 Juan Rosso Radical Motorsport +10.711
5 Max Marshall JTR +12.419
6 James Abbott Radical Motorsport +12.593
7 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +21.728
8 Jayde Kruger JTR +22.845
9 Chris Mealin Falcon Motorsport +24.160
10 Jack Barlow MBM Motorsport +37.166
11 Michael O’Brien MBM Motorsport +45.490
12 Greg Holloway SWB +1 lap
13 Clay Mitchell JTR +1 lap