Home Featured Saucy extends FREC lead with Barcelona win behind safety car

Saucy extends FREC lead with Barcelona win behind safety car

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: FRECA

Gregoire Saucy claimed a lights-to-flag victory at Barcelona to secure his second consecutive Formula Regional European Championship success.

The opening race of the weekend ended behind the safety car after an incident between MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto and Prema’s Dino Beganovic left Colapinto stranded at the side of the track.

It was a relatively simple race for Saucy. His ART Grand Prix team-mate Gabriele Mini couldn’t stick with him on the start and he was beginning to pull away from the rest of the field when an incident for Nicola Marinangeli sent the Arden driver into the gravel at high speed.

A lengthy safety car period followed as marshals had to repair the barriers and clear the crashed cars of Marinangeli and Prema’s David Vidales.

Mini was unable to challenge Saucy on the restart and Saucy was then in a race of his own until the race-finishing safety car was brought out again.

Colapinto had spent much of the race battling in the midfield, with Beganovic and Zane Maloney his main rivals. The three were running side-by-side late in the race when Colapinto and Beganovic made contact. Both drivers dropped down the order, and Colapinto stopped at the side of the track.

Prema’s Paul Aron passed Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya on the opening lap for third, and, after briefly coming under investigation for being out of position at the safety car line, finished in that position.

Alex Quinn (Arden) took fourth ahead of Boya and William Alatalo (Arden), who battled R-ace GP’s Isack Hadjar for position in the closing stages. Thomas Ten Brinke (ART GP), Maloney (R-ace), and Patrick Pasma (KIC Motorsport) completed the top 10.

Mechanical issues in qualifying meant Hadrien David started 34th but the R-ace GP driver climbed to 12th and looked set to challenge for a point when the final safety car was brought out.

Race results (15 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 33m02.305s
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +0.542s
3 Paul Aron Prema +1.756s
4 Alex Quinn Arden +3.201s
5 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +3.300s
6 William Alatalo Arden +6.229s
7 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +6.469s
8 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +6.835s
9 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +7.205s
10 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +8.075s
11 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +8.714s
12 Hadrien David R-ace GP +8.971s
13 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +9.088s
14 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +10.435s
15 Dino Beganovic Prema +11.606s
16 Brad Benavides DR Formula +12.137s
17 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +13.285s
18 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +14.449s
19 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing +15.130s
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +18.602s
21 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +19.036s
22 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +20.114s
23 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +20.681s
24 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +22.155s
25 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +23.156s
26 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +25.574s
27 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +26.378s
28 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +2 laps
29 Emidio Pesce DR Formula
30 Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing
Ret Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport
Ret David Vidales Prema
Ret Nicola Marinangeli Arden
DNS Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport
Fastest lap: Saucy, 1m43.579s

Championship standings
Saucy 60   2 Aron 45   3 Vidales 31   4 Quinn 30   5 David 27   6 Mini 26   7 Alatalo 26   8 Maloney 17   9 Boya 15   10 Hadjar 12