Home Featured Sargeant claims maiden F2 pole at Silverstone

Sargeant claims maiden F2 pole at Silverstone

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Logan Sargeant has claimed his maiden Formula 2 pole position with a dominant performance in qualifying at Silverstone.

At the scene of his first FIA Formula 3 pole position two years ago, Williams junior Sargeant flew to the top of the order and continued to improve on his time.

The Carlin driver was at one point half a second clear of the rest of the field with a time of 1m38.432s.

A series of flying laps at the start of the final runs allowed six drivers to come within half a second of the pole-sitter, but none were able to surpass him.

Ferderik Vesti came closest with a time 0.107s behind Sargeant. Nobody was able to improve on their final laps of the session, most a few tenths off their best.

Despite a spin late in the session, championship leader Felipe Drugovich managed to finish third quickest, 0.121s behind Sargeant. His main rival Theo Pourchaire set the exact same time soon afterwards and is classified fourth.

Liam Lawson improved late to go fifth quickest, just ahead of Ayumu Iwasa.

Vesti and Juri Vips both took turns at the top of the order early on before Sargeant’s first flying lap put him top of the order. Both improved over the course of the session but Vips couldn’t keep up with the top times. He would slot in eighth, behind Jack Doohan.

Enzo Fittipaldi and Jehan Daruvala completed the top 10, putting them on the front row of the grid for the reversed-grid sprint race.

The only incident during the session was for David Beckmann, who stopped in the second half of the session. The incident was covered under yellow flags, but it was the end of his qualifying and he starts both races from the back of the grid.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m38.432s 13
2 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m38.539s +0.107s 12
3 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m38.553s +0.121s 12
4 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m38.553s +0.121s 12
5 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m38.625s +0.193s 13
6 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m38.734s +0.302s 12
7 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m38.901s +0.469s 12
8 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m39.013s +0.581s 10
9 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m39.077s +0.645s 14
10 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m39.115s +0.683s 8
11 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m39.222s +0.790s 12
12 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m39.266s +0.834s 12
13 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m39.429s +0.997s 11
14 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.448s +1.016s 12
15 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m39.492s +1.060s 12
16 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m39.580s +1.148s 12
17 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m39.597s +1.165s 12
18 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m39.660s +1.228s 12
19 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m39.677s +1.245s 12
20 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m39.691s +1.259s 14
21 Calan Williams Trident 1m39.912s +1.480s 12
22 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.291s +1.859s 9