Home News Sainz rebounds to claim a commanding second pole at Monza

Sainz rebounds to claim a commanding second pole at Monza

by Peter Allen
Carlos Sainz

Photo: GEPA pictures/Dutch Photo Agency/Diederik van der Laan

Carlos Sainz has claimed a commanding pole position for the second Formula Renault 3.5 race at Monza, bouncing back from the disappointment of being left on the grid in Saturday’s race.

The Sunday morning qualifying session was a closely-fought affair for the most part, with any number of drivers involved in the fight for top spot. But with two minutes remaining, Sainz went top with a time that was six tenths quicker than anyone else.

He then improved on his following lap to go a massive eight tenths quicker than anyone else.

Marlon Stockinger improved at the end to claim second place, but the Filipino was still 0.726s slower than DAMS driver Sainz.

Jazeman Jaafar edged out Will Buller for third, while Pietro Fantin went 0.001s quicker than Sergey Sirotkin to take fifth. With Fortec looking much stronger than they had on Saturday, Sirotkin led much of the session until Sainz took charge and the Russian then slipped to sixth.

Roberto Merhi was seventh after his second-place finish in race one, with Luca Ghiotto, Pierre Gasly and Matias Laine completing the top ten.

Laine’s Strakka team-mate Will Stevens has work to do to repeat his maiden victory from race one having ended up back in 14th, one spot ahead of Oliver Rowland, who fell from third to 15th – 1.5s slower than Sainz – in the final few minutes.

Qualifying session results
Pos Driver? Team Time? Gap? Laps
1 Carlos Sainz DAMS 1:32.684 14
2 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 1:33.410 0.726 13
3 Jazeman Jaafar ISR 1:33.557 0.873 13
4 William Buller Arden Motorsport 1:33.574 0.890 15
5 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1:33.619 0.935 13
6 Sergey Sirotkin Fortec Motorsports 1:33.620 0.936 13
7 Roberto Merhi Zeta Corse 1:33.649 0.965 12
8 Luca Ghiotto International Draco Racing 1:33.747 1.063 13
9 Pierre Gasly Arden Motorsport 1:33.765 1.081 15
10 Matias Laine Strakka Racing 1:33.839 1.155 13
11 Zoel Amberg AVF 1:33.903 1.219 12
12 Nikolay Martsenko Comtec Racing 1:33.943 1.259 14
13 Norman Nato DAMS 1:34.062 1.378 14
14 Will Stevens Strakka Racing 1:34.145 1.461 14
15 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1:34.217 1.533 14
16 Marco Sorensen Tech 1 Racing 1:34.489 1.805 14
17 Beitske Visser AVF 1:34.564 1.880 14
18 Meindert van Buuren Pons Racing 1:34.665 1.981 13
19 Roman Mavlanov Zeta Corse 1:34.708 2.024 13
20 Oliver Webb Pons Racing 1:34.714 2.030 12
21 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1:34.725 2.041 13