Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Jorg triumphs in eventful Formula Renault NEC race two at Monza

Jorg triumphs in eventful Formula Renault NEC race two at Monza

by Gruz David
Kevin Jorg

Photo: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

18-year-old Kevin Jorg took his career-first single-seater race victory in race two of the opening round of the 2014 Formula Renalt 2.0 NEC season at Monza.

Starting from pole, the Swiss driver managed to keep his lead and hold it to the checkered flag. Yesterday’s race winner, Louis Deletraz finished second to complete a Josef Kaufmann Racing top two, while Steijn Schothorst took the final spot of the podium.

The start of the race was chaotic and featured three different incidents causing Ukyo Sasahara, Gustav Malja and Aurelien Panis to retire and several other drivers to sustain car damage.

Ben Barnicoat, on the other hand, benefited from it and made his way up to fourth where he finished the race, closely followed by Andrea Pizzitola.

Mark Burdett Motorsport’s Raoul Owens, AVF’s Matthew Graham and Fortec’s Seb Morris finished sixth, seventh and eighth respectively with Gregor Ramsay taking ninth to be the best Lotus junior driver of the race.

Enstone stable-mates Callan O’Keeffe damaged his front wing trying to pass Ramsay and Alex Albon had to visit the pits from fifth in the late stages of the race after taking a heavy hit from Sasahara on lap one.

The top ten was completed by Josef Zaruba from the Czech Republic, recording the best result of his single-seater career.

With the first round concluded at Monza, Deletraz leads the standings with 54 points, followed by teammate Jorg, Schothorst, Pizzitola and Barnicoat.

Pos. Name Team Time/Gap
1 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 14 laps in 25:47.306
2 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.528
3 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +4.379
4 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +12.144
5 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport +12.445
6 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +20.283
7 Matthew Graham AVF +21.754
8 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +22.297
9 Gregor Ramsay KTR +23.183
10 Josef Zaruba AVF +25.673
11 Jakub Dalewski Euronova +25.976
12 Leopold Ringbom PositiOne Motorsport +26.889
13 Roy Geerts AVF +34.545
14 Jules Gounon KTR +36.142
15 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +38.726
16 Philippe Morin Manor MP Motorsport +41.849
17 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +42.231
18 Alex Albon KTR +44.658
19 Danyil Pronenko AS Motorsport by GSK +52.112
20 Nicholas Surguladze AVF +52.976
21 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +53.450
22 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsports +58.137
23 David Richert Inter Europol +1:10.261
24 Stefan Riener MGR Motorsport +1:41.577
25 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +1:48.230
26 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +1 lap
27 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +2 laps
28 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +2 laps
Not classified
Andrea Baiguera Brixia Horse Power +6 laps
Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +14 laps
Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +14 laps
Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +14 laps