Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Rump and Parsons make it three wins each on Sunday at Shanghai

Rump and Parsons make it three wins each on Sunday at Shanghai

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Photo: Formula Masters China Series

KCMG’s Martin Rump and Meritus GP’s Jake Parsons remain the only race winners of the 2015 Formula Masters China, winning a race each during Sunday running at Shanghai.

Both Rump and Parsons now have three wins to their name and are just one point apart in the standings.

The pendulum swung in the Estonian’s favour in the first race of the day, with mechanical issues ruling Parsons out of contention.

Without the presence of his Aussie rival, Rump led lights-to-flag, leading a KCMG 1-2 as teammate Nicholas Rowe earned his first podium in the series.

Daniel Woodroof was the top Meritus driver, holding off Aidan Read to finish on the podium for the third consecutive time.

Tomoki Takahashi was not far back in fifth, ahead of Yuan Bo, while Zheng Shang Guan led Sean Hudspeth, Jeffrey Ye and Kim Jeong Tae over the line in seventh.

The track conditions changed for race three and Parsons reigned supreme in the wet.

Despite Rump holding on to the lead off the line and the Aussie being involved in an incident with Woodroof, who had to pit for a front wing change, Parsons was into the lead by the end of the opening lap.

The top two was decided then and there, but the last podium spot was up in the air, with top local racer Bo eventually edging Matthew Swanepoel.

Read was fifth, having now finished all six races of 2015 within the top five, while Tae denied Rowe in the fight for seventh. Takahashi, Hudspeth and Zheng completed the top ten.

Race one results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Martin Rump KCMG 12:53.892
2 Nicholas Rowe KCMG +5.421
3 Daniel Woodroof Meritus GP +6.500
4 Aidan Read Eurasia Motorsport +6.822
5 Tomoki Takahashi Super License +7.718
6 Yuan Bo Meritus GP +18.617
7 Shang Guan Zheng KCMG +21.770
8 Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +22.623
9 Jeffrey Ye KCMG +23.065
10 Kim Jeong Tae Eurasia Motorsport +23.504
11 Hua Miao Eurasia Motorsport +24.882
12 Takashi Hata Super License +29.614
13 Matthew Swanepoel Arrows Racing +30.765
14 Stephen Hong Super License +58.429
Not classified
Jake Parsons Meritus GP
Zhang Dasheng Privateer
Race two results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Parsons Meritus GP 23:04.017
2 Martin Rump KCMG +5.183
3 Yuan Bo Meritus GP +9.317
4 Matthew Swanepoel Arrows Racing +14.917
5 Aidan Read Eurasia Motorsport +15.244
6 Kim Jeong Tae Eurasia Motorsport +35.618
7 Nicholas Rowe KCMG +35.769
8 Tomoki Takahashi Super License +39.625
9 Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +40.440
10 Shang Guan Zheng KCMG +58.997
11 Hua Miao Eurasia Motorsport +1:04.427
12 Stephen Hong Super License +1:20.975
13 Daniel Woodroof Meritus GP +1 lap
Not classified
Jeffrey Ye KCMG
DNS Zhang Dasheng Privateer
DNS Takashi Hata Super License